Matilda’s Booklist

Roald Dahl’s Matilda remains one of my favourite books. It was largely due to his writing, and this fantastic book about a bookish young girl, that inspired me to read. The excellent illustrations by Quentin Blake also contributed to my love, particularly his drawings of Matilda reading in the library and the one where she is sitting in her room with a mug of cocoa by her side.

I was recently flicking through it, hoping to re-read it soon and I came across a list of books that young Matilda had read. They were:

Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardie

Gone to Earth by Mary Webb

Kim by Rudyard Kipling

The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemmingway

The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

The Good Companions by J.B. Priestly

Brighton Rock by Graham Greene

Animal Farm by George Orwell

I’ve only read the books in bold which makes it six out of fourteen! Another little challenge for me.

15 comments

  1. This is a fabulous challenge! The Sound and the Fury is actually on my nightstand right now! Although it got shuffled to the back when I came home from the library with another book. *sigh* Anywho, I love this!

  2. Can someone please tell me what book she was reading when she was in her room crying;(??(the one where a teardrop fell on the page) that would be great!!!!

    1. Yes, someone please find this!! I love Matilda, she is an inspiration to me; but I would like to know what that book was, I love that part of the book and that scene in the movie!

  3. I’ve been looking for the title of this book forever and I just found it. It’s called “Ivanhoe” by Walter Scott. I found it by pausing it during that scene in the movie (which I’m watching right now). You’re welcome :)

  4. It’s so exciting to see that there is another person who wants to read the books on Matilda’s book list!! I am now an adult, but when I was in 8th grade, I fell in love with Roald Dahl’s children’s books.The summer before my Freshman year of high school I read about 75 percent of the books on Matilda’s book list. I think I will tackle the book list again. It does surprise me that a young child could comprehend Tess of the D’Urbervilles, but then again, children don’t usually move objects telekinetically.

  5. I recently purchased the audio book of Matilda read by Kate Winslet. It is WONDERFUL. Kate does so many great voices for all the characters and it is really fun to listen to.

  6. Secret Garden she says is her favorite from the “children’s section” before she starts the adult books. Great Expectations (Dickens) is the first she reads from the adult section (as another commenter noted), then the list above is given. There is no scene in the book of her crying in her room while reading. I assume that is from the movie. Kate Winslet indeed does an excellent job in the audiobook: I don’t usually like her! :) I’m such a curmudgeon.

Leave a Reply

