Completist Reading

After seeing Lizzy’s Literary Life completist reading page, I was motivated to set up my own. I’ve been in the process of reading all the works of favourite authors and, on a purely aesthetic level, there’s nothing more satisfying than having the complete works of a favourite author on your shelves. I’ve done part of the list which largely consists of classic authors and it’s still a work in progress but feel free to check it out under ‘Reading Projects’ and to give any tips or advice. I’ve also renamed ‘Reading Challenges’ to ‘Reading Projects’. I never really take part in challenges because I don’t like feeling restricted and the only challenge that I’m (sort of) participating in is the 1001 Books You Must Read.

Has anybody else set up a completist reading page? I suppose everyone do keep track of it somehow but the page makes it so much nicer and easier.

In more blog related stuff, I’m in the process of writing a reviews policy just to give the blog a bit of standing.

And in other news, I have a huge stack of books whizzing my way soon (Book Depository – you torture my soul and my wallet but I still love you). It’s a bit of a splurge but I’m using my upcoming birthday as an excuse.

12 comments

  1. I like the idea of this – it’s good to have a loose structure to your reading I find. Good luck with it – I think it sounds like a lot of fun, and something I’d be interested in doing once my life settles down a bit.

    1. The list does indeed give it a bit of structure. It’s really interesting to see the publishing years when drawing up the list. These authors published major works almost every two years!

  2. My list would not be impressive. I think it would include . . . J.K. Rowling, Jane Austen and Sam Taylor (and that’s mostly because he’s only written 3 books so far). Maybe my reading habits are more wide than deep, but there are few authors of whom I’ve read more than 3 or 4 books. There are so many books I want to read . . .

    1. I think any list would be great. I do love the feeling it gives me when I’ve accomplished all the author’s works. So far, this has only happened for J.K. Rowling! :-)

      There’s no time limit for the lists but I’m interested in everything these authors have written so hopefully, I’ll get these completed in due time…

  3. Good for you Mae. I think I commented on Lizzy’s when I saw in some weeks/months ago that I loved the idea and might steal it, but I haven’t actually got around to it yet. I love the idea.

    Oh, and re challenges. I keep getting tempted but haven’t found one yet that simply fits my normal reading so I can say I’m doing it without changing my current practice one iota. (BTW I just noticed I’ve been remiss and not added you to my Aussie blog roll. You are there now, my Aussie sister in books and libraries)

    1. I would love see the lists you would come up with though! The list just gives one a sense of accomplishment too. :-)

      Re: challenges, I did want to join the Chunkster challenge but even my psyche rebelled against that. C’mon brain, I was going to read those books anyway!

Leave a Reply

