Booking Through Thursday

Here’s my Thursday Meme. These are so much fun!

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like.

This is rather hard. I’m going to say F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby. I know, I know. I’m committing sacrilege here but when I read it a few years ago I was not at all impressed. I found it rather dull and contrived although I can see the themes of social corruption and decadence shine through. The setting and era was lovely though but the book doesn’t hold a special place in me.

Saying that, I would like to give it another go and I have Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night on my to-read pile.

23 comments

  1. I hated The great Gatsby the first time around. And the second time around when I read it for a book club, I loathed it less. But it will never a make a list of my faves.

  2. Gatsby is so blah for me. I’ve also read The Beautiful and Damned and while I liked that one a bit better, still blah. My best friend and I have posited that, as you can divide the world into Beatles people and Elvis people, you can divide the world into Fitzgerald people and Hemingway people. She is Elvis+Fitzgerald, I am Beatles+Hemingway. Such is life.

    This prompt has made me feel like I could do an entire series—or an entire blog—just on books I disliked or found over-rated.

  3. Gatsby was the first F. Scott Fitzgerald novel I thought was passable. I still haven’t made it through The Beautiful and Damned. I can’t get past page 33.

    I chose Moby Dick.

  4. Different strokes for different folks–something I do appreciate in the Book World! I have everything Fitzgerald’s ever written (and yes, I’ve read them). As far as Nicole mentioning Beatles and Elvis people, I’m a Elvis/Beatles/Fitzgerald person! LOL

  5. I haven’t read it yet. It is in my tbr pile though. I had planned to read, but as in all things, keeps getting swept aside. Soon, soon.

    Robin of mytwoblessings

  6. I read that book in highschool and sort of liked the storyline. It was hard to tell if I enjoyed it or not because we were forced to write essays and tests on it and do character sketches etc…. My answer is here.

Leave a Reply

