Booking Through Thursday

Time for the weekly memes!

What was the last book you bought?

Hmm…it would have be John Harwood’s The Ghost Writer.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Jane Eyre

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

Yes, Jane Eyre. It planted the seeds of feminism in the teenage me.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

I have to admit – I can be quite the cover snob. If the cover looks dodgy (for example, I really don’t like photographs of people as covers) then I tend to be biased. But I tend to pick up the one with the most interesting titles. I saw The Blind Assassin before I saw Atwood.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Fiction. Non-Fiction can become too draining and the world’s filled with enough doom and gloom.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

I’ll have to say ‘beautiful writing’ but you can’t have a gripping plot with atrocious writing either. It depends on my mood.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

Loved: Jane Eyre/Jane Eyre, Thursday Next/The Eyre Affair series, Beth/Little Women

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

I Served the King of England by Bohumil Hrabal, Vanity Fair by Thackeray, The Garden Party & other short stories by Katherine Mansfield, The Italian by Ann Radcliffe, Romulus, my Father by Raimond Gaita.

Yes, I know, my nightstand is not a bookcase. I think we all have that problem! Books are stacked everywhere on the floor at the moment from my uni work.

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

Notes on a Scandal, over a week ago I’d say.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

Nothing that comes to mind. I tend to not give up and just skim along.

2 comments

  1. My nightstand actually is a bookcase. =)
    I feel the same way about non-fiction – there’s a time and a place, but it generally takes a lot more effort to get through for me.

Leave a Reply

