Man Booker Prize 2008

Another year, another Booker followed by intense hype and publicitiy. Which I don’t mind at all!

This year, it’s Aravind Adiga’s debut novel The White Tiger that won the prestigious prize. The book sounds good and I haven’t yet been disappointed by books that had previously won or had been shortlisted. I don’t really know much about the other novels on the shortlist. Perhaps I haven’t been paying attention this year but the hype has simmered. There was recently an interview with Steve Toltz because he’s Australian but, otherwise, it’s been quiet.

Has anyone read the shortlist or the winner?

2 comments

  1. I really enjoyed the White Tiger, which was treaded all over by critics deeming it a disgrace to literature. It isn’t really that bad. I have the feeling that the Irish critic who trash-talked it was just feeding on the sour grapes. The White Tiger is a well-written book of our time. Its amoral and irreverent themes are authentically contemporary in a world shaped by massive globalization.

  2. I read the White Tiger, in fact much before it won the booker. Thus, I picked it up as a book from an amateur first time writer, than a booker winner. But was pleasantly surprised when I read it. The style that the author adopts, i.e. letters to the prime-minister of China, didn’t go down so well initially, but as the story unfolded, i was gripped. It is indeed a book worth reading. Being an Indian myself, I can say that Adiga has portrayed the usually un-portrayed poverty of the country very well. But there is a lot more to India than what his book says. Sometimes it can mislead the reader, who otherwise is not acquainted with India.

Leave a Reply

