Musing Mondays

The latest Musing Mondays

If you keep your books, where do you keep them? And, if you give them away, who do you give them to? Do you participate in Bookcrossing, BookMooch, PaperbackSwap, or the like? Do you give your old books to family & friends, or donate them? Are any of your books in storage due to not having enough space for them all? Or, are you one of the lucky ones who has their own “library”? Feel free to share pictures, if you have them!

I keep ALL my books since I can never bare to give any away. I have given some books away in the past, mostly due to them being utterly horrible (eg. Babe: Pig in the City…yes, there was a book form). As a result, my book inventory continues to grow and space is becoming limited. I have boxed up nearly all my childhood books. I was a massive fan of Sweet Valley, Babysitters, Goosebumps, etc but I can’t bear to give those away either. They bring fond memories, and even though they are thought of as frivoulous and utter crap, those were the books that started my reading in the first place. My other books I store mainly on the one bookshelf I have. It’s quite big so it’s been doing an adequate job so far although I am hating the way I have stack on the outer ledge. Other books I don’t read as often, or aren’t as pretty to look at (!), are stored in those plastic drawers. Those are really quite good as they keep the dust out but, of course, the books aren’t able to be displayed. Finally, the remaining books – the books I’m reading, recently bought, library and borrowed books, recently finished books – are stacked up hapazardly around my room and desk. Books on the floor, on my desk shelf, some times along my bed. It’s wonderful!

I do dream of having my own library (complete with a secret room) and shelves everywhere throughout a house I might own one day. One day. 🙂

4 comments

  1. I couldn’t agree less with your post. I am having the same problem too, and I don’t know where to put my books now. They are overflowing all over the place, and Im planning to get a new book case to ensure that they are stored safely. I cant even dream of throwing away even a tattered comic. Lemme introduce myself as the chronic Bibliophile from chronicbibliophile.blogspot.com. 🙂 I would like to follow your blog, and have added myself as a follower. Lemme know if its OK. Cheers!

  2. I have three bookshelves lining the wall of the living room. The problem living in a city apartment is that living space is very crammed. I try to give away books that I don’t likely to read again to used stores and goodwill stores. In general I’m keeper who likes to maintain a history of my reading over the years.

Leave a Reply

