Musing Mondays

A new Musing Monday.

WHAT ARE YOU READING RIGHT NOW?

I’m reading about forty submissions for a Creative Writing student anthology being published by my university, or more specifically by the English department. I was lucky enough to be accepted into the editorial group and, since I’ve never done anything like this before, this will be a huge learning curve. I’m also reading Henry James’ The Aspern Papers and The Turn of the Screw. I had to start all over because I got distracted when I first began the short stories half a year ago and never finished.

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING, and WHAT DID YOU THINK OF IT?

I finished Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach! It was sweet little read. I’ve never read it and I’m a huge fan of Roald Dahl. I also wanted to see why the  book made frequent appearances in the banned book lists – I still don’t know why. I also recently finished Paulo Coehlo’s The Alchemist. I think it’s lived up to the hype and I think the story has the ability to speak to each individual reader.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU WILL READ NEXT?

Probably more things to do with the university publication. I’ve started to read Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. I’ve been slightly put off by it for awhile since my year 11 English Literature teacher (who I adored and who was so passionate about one of my favourite book, Jane Eyre) ranted on about it as a pale imitation of Jane Eyre. I’m also going to try to finish Zadie Smith’s On Beauty. I’ve waited all these years for the hype to die down. I’ve enjoyed the first few chapters.

WILL YOU READ ANY HOLIDAY-THEMED BOOKS SOON?

Probably not. I’ve never really read any holiday themed book. I might finally get around to reading Dickens’ A Christmas Carol but other than that, no.

12 comments

  1. Glad to hear your thoughts on the Alchemist. It’s been sitting around here for a while. I plan to read it soon, though. I’ve read Rebecca several times. It’s a great book — go for it!

  2. Oh, I love The Alchemist! And Rebecca was a really intense read for me too, I didn’t even realize the similarities with Jane Eyre until you mentioned it, but I think it’s a great book in itself. I second Beth F, go for it!

  3. I started “reading” “Rebecca” on audio a year ago, about, and it was really good — read by Nadia May, I think. I was thoroughly enjoying it until my silly tape-player started “eating” the cassette tape! Ugh! Now I’m trying to find another copy of the audio version, as I’d much prefer to continue listening to it!

    My teacher in Grade 3 read us “James & the Giant Peach” and I loved that story. It was great!

    Lastly, I read Henry James’ “The Aspern Papers” (my first by James) last year, and thought it was pretty good, as far as Classics go. Hope you enjoy it!

  4. I haven’t read any of Henry James’ short stories, I might have to pick them up.

    I’ve had the Alchemist on my shelf for about a year, jsut waiting for me to read it. Thanks, I needed some encouragement.

    Strange, I never before had seen the ties between Rebecca and Jane Eyre, and I have read both of them many times. I still think Rebecca is a good read though.

  5. I thoroughly enjoyed the Alchemist too. I think james and the giant peach were on the banned book list because of the abuse by the two sisters. It was also challenged because of language and drinking. Wasn’t considered appropriate for kids.

    The editorial group things sounds very interesting and must keep you busy.

    Robin of mytwoblessings.

  6. Henry James is the kind of author whose work I have to give undivided attention to. It’s a book to be read in the library with absolute quiet. It’s difficult to stay on top of his (sometimes) overly embellish style.

Leave a Reply

