Musing Monday

A new Musing Monday.

How long do you wait after finishing a book before you pick/start another one? How many books do you have planned ahead or do you pick up random books from your tbr pile (if you have one)? Do you review right away or keep reading and come back to it later?

Once I finish a book, I generally wait until the next day, at the very least, before starting a new book so I am able to absorb and comprehend what I’ve just read. I find that my  mind is still very attached to the last book I’d read so reading another immediately (unless they’re a series) just completely overload me.

I never plan ahead with what I am to read. I find that completely stifling and takes the fun out of reading. I generally have a TBR pile of books that I pick from so there is some idea of what I am to read next. However, I still randomly pick books from my shelf when the mood strikes me. It really depends on my mood and I always pick according to it. What’s the point in going against it?

I have been reviewing the books right after I’ve finished them. It’s not because I’m deep set in a ritual but it’s because I’ve genuinely enjoyed those books and it is still fresh in my mind along with my responses.

9 comments

  1. You’re so good to review right away. I always mean to, and sometimes I do, but most often not. I’m working on that.

    I used to feel bad for moving on from books right away, but I find I do mist of my reflecting in between chapters, and some books don’t evoke a deep emotional or intellectual attachment, but when they do I will take extra time before just jumping into a new book.

  2. Diddo on the “mood reading.” That’s one of the reasons why I don’t do well with book challenges or book clubs. If I don’t feel like reading it, chances are it won’t get read.

Leave a Reply

