Musing Monday

A new Musing Monday.

I always like to have a book with me at all times – call it a nerdy grown-up security blanket – and rarely do I leave the house without slipping one into my bag (even if I KNOW I’m not going to have a chance to read it). Do you take a book with you? Do you take whatever book you’re currently reading, or do you have a special on-the-go book? And do you have a preference for a these types of book (paperback, hardback; short stories; poetry etc)?

I’ve always taken a book out with me when I was younger but since I started driving a few years ago, I’ve rarely taken a book out. But recently, I’ve been driving much less and I find I’m back in the habit of popping a book into my bag for those unexpected spare moments  – waiting for transport, transport delays, friends delay. I don’t have a ‘outside/inside’ book – I take whichever book I’m currently reading. Of course, if the book I’m reading is massive or extremely heavy, I’ll pick another slimmer volume to take out. I always prefer paperbacks, even though they get knocked around quite a bit (although curiously there’s never been any major disasters – just bruised edges).

I love seeing, and watching, people read and I like to think there’s an ‘insiders’ moment when fellow passengers pull out their respective books, slyly cast a glance at what the other is reading, before settling into their respective books. I remember a few years ago when every second passenger was reading Dan Brown… it’s a great to advertise, that’s for sure!

7 comments

  1. haha, I love that ‘insiders’ moment. I used to spend a lot of time on the bus, and I ALWAYS checked out what everyone else was reading. And Twilight seems to be the Dan Brown transport book of the moment.

  2. –> I love seeing, and watching, people read and I like to think there’s an ‘insiders’ moment when fellow passengers pull out their respective books, slyly cast a glance at what the other is reading, before settling into their respective books.

    I am so guilty of this 🙂

  3. I take the train twice a day and always check out fellow riders reading material before I open my book. Then, I catch non-readers eyeing the pages that I read and trying to catch a few words. I love little observations/connections like that; silently and distantly intimate.

Leave a Reply

