Booking Through Thursday

A new BTT

Do you give books as gifts?

To everyone? Or only to select people?

How do you feel about receiving books as gifts?

I usually always give books as gifts to friends who I know would appreciate or enjoy them. I have some friends who don’t read at all and yawn and pout if I steer them towards a bookstore. Even so, I think books are one of the best gifts one can give because it’s so personal, lasting and a historical marker. I write a message in each book I give and I hope that some time in the future, they will look back on the book and my message and smile. I’m always intrigued by messages in second-hand books and I imagine what the original owners were like and why the book has ended up in a second-hand store.

It is most ironic, then, that I rarely receive books as gifts! Friends think that because I’m always buying books that I won’t need any more (when we all know that it doesn’t work that way). Or that they say that find my tastes intimidating and selective (which generally aren’t if they stick to classics and good literature) or that they don’t know what I’ve read or bought and they don’t want to overlap (which is fair enough). I do get some books as gifts but they are mainly from other bookish friends or some bizarre titles.

A friend once gave me Jane Austen’s Guide to Dating and when I raised my eyebrows at her, she just shrugged her shoulded and smirked.

One can never get enough of books. Or books about books. Or even bookish things and accessories.

9 comments

  1. Oh yes, wouldn’t it be a waste to give books to people who won’t read them or don’t like reading at all?!

    🙂 I also like reading the messages and study the handwriting in second-hand books. There’s some kind of mystery in them and I think who they could be and how they led their lives.

  2. I find the over-lapping thing a problem when buying book gifts. Fortunately, it’s fairly easy to ask if someone’s read something without giving anything away!

    I like the idea of writing messages in books. 🙂

  3. I know what you mean! Most of my friends are non-readers so whenever I am with them, I do not discuss about books. 😉 And I’m glad I could rave/rant about books with fellow bookbloggers!

  4. My family is pretty good, especially one of my sisters at going on my amazon wishlist and sending me books I want for my birthday. I appreciate that. I generally space out giving books as gifts but this year – everyone is getting books. (tailored to their taste, of course.)

    Robin of mytwoblessings

  5. I’m spending a lot of time matching books to their recipients, especially those who don’t read much. I believe there is a book for everybody.

    I’m a “piece of work” in terms of recipient of books. Over the years my friends have cringed from giving me books for my birthday owing to my eclectic taste. They also keep in mind that I’ve probably read some of the books they want to give me. Books do make perfect gifts, but by their very nature, books can also be a problem as tokens of affection. The delay factor is huge. Some books get a one-way ticket back to the used bookstore.

    My family always asks me if I’ll ever have enough books—of course no. But they are just amazed how much time I spend at the bookstores even when I’m home for the visit.

Leave a Reply

