Musing Monday

A new MM

Do you have a system for borrowing out books from the library? Do you know what you’re going to borrow before you get there? How often do you borrow out books?

I generally don’t have a system or a long booklist when I head off to the library. I might occasionally have an idea of something that I should check while I’m there but from past experiences I’m usually always disappointed that the book is unavailable. It’s great going to the library and discovering all sorts of books because it’s free and there’s no obligation for you to like it. I also like popping in only occasionally because it usually means I’ll find many of the books I wanted to read awhile back would be sitting on the shelves.

Alas, I haven’t been to the library for some time. I mainly used the university library this year because I still have fines on my several library cards. I think I belong to 3 different libraries and I managed to collect fines on them all.

9 comments

  1. I know about getting fines! Fortunately, there are no fines with audio downloads. Also my library has book-return boxes conveniently located around the area (at the grocery store, for example), so it’s usually pretty easy to get a book back before the due date.

  2. I get fines on everything too- another reason I don’t use them much for my personal reading. As a teenager I had my card taken away twice for nonpayment of fines! You’d think that I would have learned as an adult to be more responsible- nope! 😦

  3. Nothing is more disappointing than hoping to find a book at the library and they don’t have it. Since the two libraries I go to have gone online, I haven’t had that problem but sometimes they will lose a hold that I placed which drives me bonkers. One of my cards has a fine for $3.50 which I have to pay before they hand over the books I have on hold…a literary ransom:)

  4. I have read a lot of rare and out of print books by ordering from public library stock. But I have encountered long queue for new fiction. Recently I am delighted to discover that as a faculty/staff, I can check out books from campus for up to the whole semester!

  5. Thanks for commenting on my review of The Dead of the Night. Ironic that I noticed yournote today, because the series was one suggested by my library in one of it’s monthly newsletters! I probably would have missed it altogether if I hadn’t read the library’s review.

Leave a Reply

