Musings Mondays

What do you use to mark your place while reading? Do you have a definite preference? Do you use bookmarks, paper, or (gasp) turn down the pages? If you use bookmarks, do you have a favourite one?

I use bookmarks. As a child, I would dog ear the books because I would be forever losing the numerous bookmarks I had. As I grew older I would use scraps of paper, post-it notes, or a paper clip. These days, I mainly use books marks or bits of paper if I don’t have a book mark on hand. I love book marks (well, I love anything to do with books) and I have a small collection. I make a conscious effort not to amass a huge collection because I want to be able to use each and everyone frequently.

I have two favourites. The first is a caligraphy of my name. I got it a few years ago when I went to this funny little tea house in the country and the old man who ran it was like a character straight out of a book! He even sat down with us and told us a short story which was wonderful. There was a little maze at the back of the teahouse and the caligraphy was a little prize for completing it. It’s laminated and I’m hoping it’ll keep.

The second one is a store bought bookmark.  7400_adv_bookwormIt’s a cute little bookmark and it’s very fitting. I have other various ones, such as the the Galadrile and Aragorn bookmarks, and souvenirs from places I visit. They’re the perfect souvenirs – small and useful.

8 comments

Leave a Reply

