Musing Monday

This week’s MM.

How often do you visit the library? Do you have a scheduled library day/time, or do you go whenever? Do you go alone, or take people with you?

As mentioned in some of my previous posts, I’m a horrible library patron since I forget to return them on time and collect numerous fines on my card. I belong/ed to about four different libraries and they all have quite substantial fines on them. I’ll have to move houses to sign up to a new branch library. 🙂

When I do drop into libraries it is usually to read magazines. Magazines have become so expensive that I prefer to buy second -hand books instead. I have also found that libraries these days (well, at my local libraries at least) are so noisy that I can’t get any reading done since I’m easily irritated if there are loud, abrupt noises rather than a steady low hum one finds at a cafe or park. Whatever happened to quiet libraries?

8 comments

  1. I’m usually good about not having fines. But I know what you mean about magazines. Some friends and I have a policy of sharing magazines. We put a sticky note on the cover with all our names. We cross our name off when we’re done, and pass it along to someone else. The last person recycles it.

  2. I don’t usually read magazines, so I have no problems with that. I do use the library for audio books and DVDs. I must admit, though, I get fanatical about returning on time. I’m almost always early. LOL

  3. It is a great place to read magazines! The fines, yes, another reason I don’t go to the library. I think they have my pic on the wall on a “Most Wanted” list.

Leave a Reply

