Musing Monday

This week’s MM.

When reading do you read every word? Do you ever skip chapters or skim over parts?

I never skip chapters! What’s the point of reading a book if one is going to skip chapters? However, I do find I skim every now and then, particularly if I’ve been reading for awhile and my attention is starting to waver. Even if it’s a very gripping and page-turning thriller, my mind tends to wander if I’ve been reading for awhile. The last book I skimmed over the most was probably when I had to read Villette for uni last year – mainly because half the book was in French and I couldn’t be bothered having to keep flicking over to the notes to read the translation, especially since I only had a week to read it.

8 comments

  1. I never skip whole chapters, but I’ve skimmed through some scenes. If I get bored by something, I’ll skip ahead, never whole chapters though.

    Have a great week!

  2. But Mae! What if the book is truly unbearable? What if it’s an entire chapter of un-eloquent description of say… Oxford University?

  3. I don’t know anyone who has skipped a whole chapter. Can you imagine what you would miss! I find that when I get tired, then I start skimming and the attention wandering and have no idea what I read.

    My post is up now.

  4. Ariel – if the book is so unbearable (for example, The Exorcist…) and I’m exhausted from fighting the urge to throw it across the room, then back it goes to the library or charity! Or ebay, I suppose… :-p

Leave a Reply

