Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT.
We’ve all seen the lists, we’ve all thought, “I should really read that someday,” but for all of us, there are still books on “The List” that we haven’t actually gotten around to reading. Even though we know they’re fabulous. Even though we know that we’ll like them. Or that we’ll learn from them. Or just that they’re supposed to be worthy. We just … haven’t gotten around to them yet.

What’s the best book that YOU haven’t read yet?

This is a very hard question! There are so many great books that I haven’t read yet let alone attempt to pick out one single title. In fact, I’ve been attempting this book challenge in hopes of actually getting around to these marvellous titles.

I’m going to cheat here and put down two titles – a fiction and non-fiction.

Fiction – War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Non-Fiction – Madness and Civilization by Michel Foucault

I was hoping to absorb myself in Foucault last year at uni but I seriously misjudged my time frames so I did not have the time. Soon, soon…

11 comments

  1. I have been wanting to read War and Peace for a long time too but I am not sure I’ll end up liking it. Hence missing from my list. And besides it’s so huge ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It’s amazing how many people so far are listing ‘War & Peace’ as the great title they’ve never read (it’s on my list too). I think it must be down to it’s size (as Violet also notes), that so many people want to read it, and I think it’s for the same reason that people who haven’t read it already, want to one day tick it off as a monumental reading challenge conquered!
    Warmest
    Rob

  3. War and Peace is #1 on my list too! Not that I’m stalking you or anything, but I completely agree with what you said on Rob’s blog:

    War and Peace is daunting because, like you said, of its size which not only restricts its mobility but it will take us quite awhile to finish it (when we could use that time to read three other booksโ€ฆ)

  4. I’ve signed up with alot of reading challenges in hopes that I’ll finally get to some of those books sitting in my TBR, but I don’t know how successful I’ll be.

    Happy Thursday!

  5. lol… I have to say that I’m glad I read War and Peace in high school… even if I have little more than a vague impression and writer’s cramp from keeping notes on all the names as memories from the book. I do want to reread it eventually, along with that other Russian classic that can double as a boat anchor: Anna Karenina.

    I’ve never heard of your non-fiction choice. I’ll have to check that out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve got so many but when I reflect upon the type of writing style that appeals me the most, I narrow it down to a short list.

    At first I couldn’t make of the question because it really depends on what best is. I’m reading a very popular book that I’m probably the last person on earth to read it. Gone with the Wind. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I taught War and Peace last summer so I re-read it again. Maybe I should do a read-along on this book again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thekoolaidmom – I wish my teachers made me read War and Peace! But, alas, I never had the chance to study Russian literature because they were never offered high school nor at uni. A friend (who wrote her thesis on Russian lit.) and I were bemoaning that fact and attempted to scheme up a way where she would set up a Russian lit. component.

    Enough ranting and my life story for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Matt – I think a read-along to War and Peace might prove to be very popular within the blogophere. ๐Ÿ™‚ Not only will there be motivation to actually turn to the first page of that tome but we’ll have the guidance of a very seasoned teacher in Russian lit. A very nice bonus!

Leave a Reply

