Lost in Austen

The ABC is premiering the British series Lost in Austen tonight. It’s an interesting concept for T.V. but it’s not a new idea for literature. As a fan of Jasper Fforde’s Bookworld series where the characters are set in an alternate universe where there are literary detectives and some characters have the ability to enter books, I thought this new production was a basis of Fforde’s work. It appears to be removed from Fforde and independent.

The first episode features a bored bank worker who becomes ‘lost’ in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice then switches place with the novel’s heroine Elizabeth Bennet. It certainly sounds fun and the bibliophile in me squeals in delight everytime there’s something remotely bookish on tellie. And this re-telling of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice sounds much better than (and I’m serious) Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

What do others think of this series?

Lost in Austen is screening on the ABC at 8.30pm for those in Oz.

6 comments

  1. Lost In Austen was on here a couple of months ago. I really enjoyed it. It was frustrating watching the original plot get all mixed up but that was part of the fun I guess. Some of the reinterpretations of the characters were pretty funny too. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂 Coincidentally, ‘Miss Austen Regrets’ is showing in NZ tonight, about the last few years of Jane Austen’s life.

    I don’t know what to think about the zombie one! So wrong, but so bizarre I think I have to see/read it!

  2. Hey! I actually think “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” sounds like a great idea. Certainly fun at least, though I have no high expectations whatsoever for its literary merit. But then I’m partial to both classic literature and zombies ~ a grand combination if I’ve ever heard of one. 😀

    I’m definitely going to have to check out this new series! I had no idea this was coming on until fairly recently. Just last week I almost picked up the book which it’s apparently based on.

  3. Lost in Austen hasn’t made it to the US yet, although I watched it on-line and really thought it was cute. And I too think Pride, Prejudice and Zombies might be kind of funny.

  4. Jennifer – I ended up watching parts of it (alternating with Rove…) and it was mostly enjoyable. The main character was slightly annoying though but I thought it was pretty funny and smartly done.

  5. J.S. Peyton – I admit, I had a squiz through various reviews of P & P & zombies (really, Jane must be rolling over in her grave) and it does sound like fun. I only hope it’s well written with lots of smart wit and irony!

  6. Stephanie – the production was quite good and the writers made good use of gaps within the novel so it’s sort of a like a glimpse of the ‘backstage’. I love those sort of things.

Leave a Reply

