Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT

What book do you think should be made into a movie? And do you have any suggestions for the producers?

Or, What book do you think should NEVER be made into a movie?

I think I would like to see Harry Potter be made into a movie … oh wait, it already is! :-p

A book (s) I would like to be made into a movie would be the Tomorrow series by John Marsden. The series spans through seven books and it’s one of the the most amazing piece of writing I’ve read. I guess one could call it the Australian Harry Potter because the story swept up both children and adults (the books are young adult). In saying that, while I don’t doubt that the studios can fund the special effects and all that jazz, it is their willingness to invest in keeping the integrity of the story is what concerns me. I can see cost cutting, amalgating the seven books into … three movies (which is perhaps do-able) or switching the cast and setting from Australia to America.

5 comments

  1. I didn’t know Time Traveller’s Wife or Lovely Bones were being made into movies. Both are on Mt. TBR. I don’t think The Kite Runner could have been done effectively by anyone, the nature of the book’s storytelling makes it virtually impossible.

    I’ve never heard of the Tomorrow series. I’ll have to check it out 😀

  2. Sounds interesting. I always tend to think that the books I don’t have the energy to read but would like to would make good movies. Like all these fantasy series that are 5 books or more! 😉

Leave a Reply

