Musing Monday

This week’s Musing Monday.

How many bookstores do you frequent? Do you have a favourite? If so, which one and what makes it so?

As much as I would love to support independent and quirky bookstores,  I generally go in the direction of the lowest price. If there are discount vouchers for Borders, I’ll go to Borders. If Dymocks are on sale, I’ll go there since I have a loyalty card anyway. I buy books from large department stores like K-Mart or Big W (I found a copy of Persuasion for $6.50 the other day!). I go to Ebay when I want to search for some random books but it’s rare I get a good price these days. The best bargain I had was getting a load of Agatha Christies for around $10 including delivery.

If money was not in the equation, I would buy from Dymocks more since they have a very wide range and it’s local. For second-hand books, I would frequent this lovely little shop where the owner has converted an old Victorian townhouse and filled it with floor to ceiling bookshelves. The whole place is simply crammed with books. *Bliss*

7 comments

  1. I wonder if the owner of that Victorian would let me move in…..
    Since I can’t find a bookstore that I love, I too tend to go for price and actually, for me, that is Amazon Marketplace.

  2. Yes, I do indeed live in Australia – nice to meet a fellow local… relatively speaking!

    Can I ask about the bookstore/Victorian house. I think I agree with Caite, it sounds like somewhere I’d want to live.

  3. I frequently browse Dymock’s when I’m on vacation in Hong Kong. Back at home I go to the neighborhood indies where they stock up to the ceiling, and get lost in the aisle full of tomes. A couple of them also have heavily discounted new books from USD2.98 and up.

  4. Matt, I never knew there was a Dymock’s in Hong Kong! I always thought it was exclusively Australian. Glad to know they’ve broken into another market.

Leave a Reply

