Musing Monday

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about boys and reading…

Have you ever finished a book, then turned around and immediately re-read it? Why? What book(s)? (question courtesy of MizB)

There have been books like these in the past where I immediately flick back to the first few chapters and skim through them again but their titles elude me. I’m a Harry Potter fan and one of the reasons I love them is the way Rowling leaves little obscure clues throughout her books that lead up the big reveal. That makes it fun and exciting and it’s interactive in a particular way. It’s also very clever of Rowling as a way to encourage readers to re-read her books.

The most recent book I can think of is Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I was truly bowled over by the story and writing that I immediately flicked back and started over. It’s now one of my favourite stories.

Otherwise, the sheer amount on the TBR pile pretty much leaves little time for re-reads although I am currently re-reading The Ghost Writer by John Harwood. It was so good I remember zooming through it and being scared pantsless by it. I’m still scared the second time round because I’m anticipating what’s to come.

4 comments

  1. I’m the same way with Harry Potter. The last few books, I would get them at midnight and read straight through the night to just get the story in my head, then immediately start them again after I woke up from the inevitable crash in order to get the details under control. They’re great for re-reads because of all the layers to the stories!

  2. Hahaha I agree with Harry Potter! And Breakfast At Tiffany’s, but I can’t go back to it straight away. I think when I was little I went through cycles of Enid Blyton

    Also when J.K. came out and said that Dumbledore had been a wizard fancier, I re-read it and found all the subtle clues. Very clever the way she did it I think.

Leave a Reply

