Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT.

Mariel suggested this week’s question

Book Gluttony! Are your eyes bigger than your book belly? Do you have a habit of buying up books far quicker than you could possibly read them? Have you had to curb your book buying habits until you can catch up with yourself? Or are you a controlled buyer, only purchasing books when you have run out of things to read?

Oh dear. My eyes are definitely much bigger than my book belly and if what I’ve amassed, and continue to, transpired into reality, I’ll be deader than dead! I would have exploded with all these little books flying out of me like colourful confetti. I made an effort to stop buying books I knew I wouldn’t read immediately last year, and it did work because my collection hardly grew, but my book purchases for English Lit. offset those book buying urges. This year, and more recently (say…yesterday), I’ve been purchasing so much more books and I have made up some very good excuses during the line at the register (to stimulate the economy! to keep my literary mind active! reading is fun! books are purdy! no, you’re not poor – just monetary challenged! it’s buy-10-get-1-free!).

7 comments

  1. ooooh, I see some of my favourite books and authors in your blog header! We all have our excuses for our binges. I try to buy only books I know I will love, or will read again, or will read with my kids (if I ever have any!). Anything else I try to borrow!

  2. Haha! I’m very much like you… I behaved myself for a little while and tried to work my way through what I already owned, but that was short-lived. I’ve started buying them on Amazon with “one-click” ordering — how incredibly dangerous!

Leave a Reply

