Musing Monday

This week’s MM

We all know the old adage about not judging a book by it’s cover, but just how much sway does a book cover have when it comes to your choice of book – whether buying or borrowing? Are there any books you’ve bought based on the cover alone?

The book cover definitely plays a part in how I select a book. If i’m simply browsing among the stacks I will pick up the one that interests me the most or one that grabs my attention. I am easily turned off by bad cover designs such as those that are typically depicted on chick-lit fiction. I can assume many of them contains perfectly well written stories but the covers repulse me and I don’t want anything to do with them. A bit harsh, I know, but I think those covers contribute to the trivialisation of the chick-lit genre. The writing aren’t all bad. I also don’t like movie-tie in covers. Absolutely horrendous. The only one I’ve seen that is well done is ‘Notes on a Scandal’ – partly because it is artistically done and Cate Blanchett is gorgeous to boot. 🙂

If I have a title in mind, then the cover doesn’t matter to me although it does help if they have a nice cover. Penguin does a fantastic job with its covers, in my opinion. I’ve never bought a book based on the cover alone though.

5 comments

  1. I’m not thrilled with the movie-tie-in covers either. You have a good point about the chick lit covers. I love that genre, so I try to overlook the covers but some really are bad. I try to go to the bookstore with a list in hand and not let the covers bother me.

  2. Not harsh. Can’t do the chick lit brand of cover art myself. Also afraid someone will see me reading it. 🙂 And right there with you on movie tie-ins also. Was just cleaning up the shelves and found a very goofy looking Bill Murray on the cover of The Razor’s Edge. Love him, love the book, but that edition has got to go!

  3. I completely forgot about the movie tie-in covers! I hate those. I agree the “Notes on a Scandal” isn’t that bad, but as a rule I try to stay away from tie-ins. I have one on my shelf now (it was a steal at the used book store), and even though I want to read it, I’m still turned off by the cover. =)

Leave a Reply

