Reading on Mondays

What I’m Reading on Mondays.

Finished:

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams. I read it before I went and saw the play with Cate Blanchett as Blanche!

Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl. This has been my travelling book and short stories are perfect for it. Each story was captivating and thrilling while at the same time able to be picked up and put back down. This book just cements Roald Dahl as one of the best and most creative and imaginative writers ever. He’s also very sly and manipulative as a writer too.

Reading:

Carry Me Down by M.J. Hyland. I’ve been waiting for the right moment to start this because I don’t want to put it down. It’s also a large paperback so it can’t be carried around in my bag.

The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus. Ongoing relationship with all things existentialist.

Bibliotopia, or, Mr. Gilbar’s Book of Books and Catch-all of Literary Facts and Curiosities compiled by Steven Gilbar. A marvellous little book I found at the book stall in the Sydney Theatre while waiting for the play to start. It has little facts and figures of bookish things. Very American biased but still fun to read. It’s designed to be picked up and put down.

9 comments

  1. ZOMG so jealous you got to see Streetcar with Cate Blanchette >.< I missed out on tickets. Enjoy Camus! I need to read something more of his after finishing The Outsider which was awesome.

  2. I haven’t read Streetcar Named Desire either, although, it’s one of those books that I do want to read.

    Carry Me Down is amazing – I absolutely loved it. It’s reminiscent of The Curious Incident Of The Dog At Night Time.

  3. Myth of Sisyphus is so great, I read it earlier this year. After the intensity of Myth, I didn’t think the shorter essays would interest me but they are equally evocative.

Leave a Reply

