Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT:

Suggested by Monibo:

Saw this article (from March) and thought it would make a good BTT confessional question:

Two-thirds of Brits have lied about reading books they haven’t. Have you? Why? What book?

No, I must sound like an angel but I’ve never been tempted to lie about books I haven’t read. I don’t see the point and there are more important things to lie about. 🙂 The only thing that comes close to ‘lying’ is something I had read a long, long time ago or something I had quickly skimmed over and barely remember but I still maintain I’ve ‘read’ it. Perhaps we should define ‘read’? Do you read ‘read’ or do you just simply skim quickly without taking it in?

7 comments

  1. I think you can get a pretty fair reading experience by skimming some books – so I wouldn’t really consider that the same as saying you’ve read something when you actually haven’t. And I agree – lying about what you read or don’t read is really pointless.

  2. I am with on the lying thing. So silly. And as far as skimming, I could never do that simply because it’s not in my nature, if it is not good enough for me to sit and read it, it’s not good enough for me to waste any more time on it by skimming it.

  3. My answer is similar – there are books assigned in high school that I skimmed (or don’t really remember reading), but still say that I read because I do remember carting the things around all semester. That’s the same as reading it, right? Isn’t it? No?

  4. I have to say, I can’t quite agree that skimming and reading are the same, or that skimming is an equivalent experience to reading. If I’ve skimmed something for class, I’ll specify that I “covered it” or read parts of it.

    One exception: if it’s something I’ve read before, particularly if I’ve read it many times.

  5. I don’t exactly get the point of lying about what you have or have not read either. I guess that if I did feel the urge to lie that I’d read some book I’d rather go and read it! 🙂 I do agree on the long-time-ago books though. I have a few of those that I am not sure I should actually claim to have read due to time and skimming. Perhaps it’s time to get back to some of those…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

