Book Loot

Hurrah for new books! Well, new and second hand since I’m still trying to buy second hand where ever possible.

IMG_5930

  • The Haunted Hotel – Wilkie Collins
  • The Professor – Charlotte Bronte
  • Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  • Surfacing – Margaret Atwood
  • Voices from the World of Jane Austen – Malcolm Day
  • Her Fearful Symmetry – Audrey Niffenegger

I was surprised to find Niffenegger’s book since it was released her with seemingly no fanfare. The only reason I know she has a new novel out is from fellow bloggers in the U.S and U.K who are reading it.

I really must stop buying books.

Anybody get some interesting loot?

5 comments

  1. I went on a book binge ten days back, and haven’t bought a single book since. Yay me.

    I really like Little Women, so hope you enjoy it. I didn’t enjoy The Time Traveler’s Wife at all, so am steering clear of Her Fearful Symmetry.

  2. “I really must stop buying books”. Ha! I tell myself that all the time :-)! It only works for maybe a few days…. But, like you, I try to buy used whenever I can.

    I just got “64 Sonnets of John Keats” in the mail today. I’m looking forward to eventually watching that new movie about Keats!

    I liked “the Time Traveler’s Wife” so am looking forward to reading “Her Fearful Symmetry”, but I think it will be a while before I get to that one.

  3. Ahh, I do love a good haul! Penguin black classics look so damn attractive lined up together. I read Little Women when I was much, much younger and I’ve always thought it is one of those books I’d like to revisit.

    I think a lot of books are released here with little to no fanfare – I went book browsing today and noticed a few big titles that I had no idea had been released here. Maybe I’m just not keeping myself informed? I don’t know.

  4. Uncertainprinciples – I do love Little Women but I never did buy a copy of it. I had a really old one which was dodgy since it didn’t have Good Wives in it too. Such a sweet stories. Jo and Laurie for ever!

    Valerie – A book of Keats sounds lovely. 🙂 I got Her Fearful Symmetry as a birthday gift.

    Jess – Penguin’s design are just damn sexy. Other bloggers thinks I secretly work for them because of all my gushes about their designs. But it’s incredible that they still manage to make classics so modern and constantly reinvent them. I don’t notice a lot of fanfare about other books too. Maybe publicity money has dried up? A lot of books were spruiked during MWF though. At least they were decent books.

  5. Voices from the World of Jane Austen sounds very interesting, and I have never heard of Malcolm Day. I haven’t been buying recently because work is busy, but I do maintain a shopping list to which I frantically add new entries everyday when I read about books on the blogs.

Leave a Reply

