Reading on Mondays and Updates

This week’s RoM

I’ve gone slightly deranged and have been overzealous at accunulating books. And my attention span has gone out the window with most of my attention focusing on assignments with its due dates looming large.

Right now, I’m still reading all those books listed down the side bar on the right AND i’m halfway through Disgrace by J.M Coetzee. I’m in love with him. This is the first book of his I’ve read and I picked it up only because a lecturer told me a short story of mine reminded her of Coetzee’s book (not gloating or anything here but WOW!! What a compliment!)

I’ve also managed to rejoin the library. Those who read this blog know about my horrible tendencies to accumalate fines. I have joined about 5 libraries and I can’t go to any of them due to fines. But I did manage to rejoin a local one because it’s been awhile. I also discovered that my uni library has some pretty great books too and I’ve been ordering them in a frenzy. Who knows how on earth I’ll be able to finish these books on time. To make matters worse, I still haven’t managed to finish the 5 books I have going at the moment!

Books lined up:

The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larson

The Accidental by Ali Smith

The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold

The Memory Room by Christopher Kock

The Moon is Down by John Steinbeck.

14 comments

  1. Don’t speak of looming assignment dates, I might start feeling guilty about slacking off right at this very moment and get back to work! (Argh, kind of glad to know that someone else is sharing the pain though.)

  2. I’ve found that it’s always awesome to have your own writing compared to the writing of a cool/artful author. Good luck with all of your work!

  3. Sounds like a great reading week! And I’m glad you were able to rejoin the library — I love my local libraries and find that using Library Elf really helps me keep track of when books are due so I have fewer fines. I used to pay the library a lot in fines also 🙂

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  4. I loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I second using Library Elf – it’s really helped me lately. I still pay the library fines from time to time, but it’s less than it use to be. Enjoy your reading.

  5. Vinlay and Crystal – I don’t think my libraries have library elf which is disappointing but I shall look into it. But I do think they send email reminders.

  6. I was going to say what a wonderful compliment but I haven’t read Coetzee yet (it’s on the long end of my TBR) so can’t really comment 🙂 Still how wonderful to be compared to a man booker longlister. Do you write lots?

Leave a Reply

