Reading on Mondays

This week’s RoM.

Finished:

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. WOWWOWWOW!!! This book is absolutely amazing!! I initially thought it was a book about China when it was released a few years ago. Then I found out it was simply a Swedish crime/detective novel and I thought, ‘so what?’ and didn’t really understand why it was so popular. But WOW!! The plot is so amazing. It’s like Agatha Christie on steroids and crystal meth. I highly recommend it. I finished it in one day.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. This is re-read since I didn’t really like it when I first read it but I was 16 so I think that played a part. On the latest re-read, the first as an adult, I really did enjoy it.

Unfinished:

The Children’s Book – A.S. Byatt. I’ve sort of given up on this. I’m about 150 pages in but it’s really plodding and I have a pile of other books to read – mainly library books which are pushing me along. I’ve rested it and I might go back to it. It’s good, but just plodding.

Reading:

The Girl who Played with Fire – Stieg Larsson. The second book in the millenium trilogy.

The Seance– John Harwood.

 

14 comments

  1. Oh wow, I’ve been meaning to read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo for ages, now I’m really going to have to move it up the priority list. Have a great reading week 🙂

  2. I loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo also – it was amazing. I have The Girl Who Played with Fire on reserve at my library and can’t wait until it comes in.

  3. I haven’t read Catcher in the Rye, that’s one I need to add to my classics-to-read list. Glad you hear you enjoyed it more now that you’re older. I keep wondering if I should re-read some of the books I read in high school that I didn’t like back then. It looks like that might be a good idea.

    Here’s my Monday Round Up.

  4. I haven’t read “Catcher in the Rye” either. I’ve had it on my TBR shelf for years. I also have “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” on my shelf too. I’ll probably read the latter first because I’ve heard entirely too many good things about it. Plus, I love your description. 🙂

Leave a Reply

