Book Splurge

Hmm, I have somehow ended up buying $75 worth of books from Book Depository. My reasoning is that they have free delivery and they now sell in Australian dollars. They are also much cheaper than books here. I’m just a little bit worried about incurring possible good taxes, of which I know nothing about, but it seems to be ok with other customers. It’s not like I’m importing thousands of dollars worth of books.

The titles I got are:

The Mandarins by Simone de Beauvoir

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens (Surprisingly, I’ve had a hard time finding this in stores here).

The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers

Poor Miss Finch by Wilkie Collins (I’m in the process of collecting Collins’ books – and reading them, of course).

Now I just have to wait until they arrive. No more book buying for me for awhile, I think.

3 comments

  1. Ah-ha another who has succumbed to the book depository madness. They’re really great, and they’ll arrive in no time. You have no idea, although you could probably guess, how pleased it makes me to see The Heart is a Lonely Hunter on your list of purchases.

Leave a Reply

