An Honest Scrap Meme

Eyglo (from the blog, IDeary) has kindly awarded me with an award/meme that sounds like fun. So here goes:

Rules. (In my opinion, rules are made to be slightly stretched or broken :p) :

a. ‘The Honest Scrap Blogger Award’ must be shared.

b. The recipient has to tell 10 (true) things about themselves that no one else knows

c. The recipient has to pass on the award to 10 more bloggers.

d. Those 10 bloggers should link back to the blog that awarded them

As this is largely a book blog, I’ll stick to the theme. And these are hardly secrets. I hold much deeper and darker secrets than these. 🙂

  1. I grew up in a bookless home as nobody else in my family were/are big readers. I was a huge exception.
  2. When I was young, around 6 years old, we lived around the corner from the library. I would spend all day at the library or go there after school and it became an impromptu childcare centre. Of course, it helped that the librarians loved me and let me help them.
  3. Picture books never held much appeal for me. Even when I was young.
  4. I grew up on a steady diet of Sweet Valleys, Goosebumps, Fear Street, Babysitter’s Club, Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl.
  5. Jane Eyre is my most favourite book. It was the first classic I read and it opened my eyes to gender equality and feminism.
  6. English is not my first language. Regular readers may notice some strange grammar or expressions.
  7. I find many literary magazines far too pompous. I’m hoping to start one up myself with a prerequisite that it won’t be pompous.
  8. I would do my English major and honours year at uni all over again. I loved it that much.
  9. I have a short attention span and I can rarely sit with a book for more than 2 hours – unless it’s extremely good then I can stay up the whole night. I am also a slow reader.
  10. I am fascinated with what other people read and their bookshelves. I always find myself watching people on transport and zooming to shelves when I enter other people’s homes. I loved staring at and examining the shelves of lecturers whenever I went into their offices.

I’m tagging (highly optional, of course) these other great blogs:

And of course anybody else who may be interested. I’m looking forward to reading your answers. 🙂

4 comments

  1. Hey Jane Eyre is my favourite too! And it sounds like we grew up reading the same books (did you also read Paul Jennings per chance? He rocks!)

    Thanks for the tag, I’ll get around to this soon 🙂

    Learned something new as well! What is your first language, out of curiosity?

  2. I’m looking forward to doing this (haven’t forgotten!) but am a bit intermittently on the internet over the holiday! Will have to think of some ‘truths’ when I’m on the train home tomorrow 🙂

    I’m the same about peering at other people’s bookshelves. Actually my friend’s say I’m a bit nosy but I like to think it’s healthy curiosity. I only recently realised that English wasn’t your first language, and only because you said so – certainly not from your writing which is a pleasure to read.

  3. When I visit people I tend to spend a lot of time looking at their bookshelves. Recently I’ve been apartment hunting and it was almost impossible not to focus on the bookshelves and the books the people had there while I was supposed to be looking at something else! 🙂 I’m glad you did this. It’s interesting!

Leave a Reply

