Final Delivery Before Christmas

Well, the shopping centres here have been opened for 36 hours since yesterday (23rd) morning and have closed today at 6pm. This is to accommodate those last minute gift buying frenzies. I went along to one of the shopping centres and it is startling how terrifying the Christmas rush crowds are! I managed to pick up some books even though the last thing I ever need is more books. Those poor trees.

I got:

  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  • The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

The mail also started coming through too since there has been a postal strike on for the last several days. Two of the books from the lot I ordered from the Book Depository have come through today’s post before the holiday break.

  • Poor Miss Finch by Wilkie Collins
  • Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens

I am most excited about Our Mutual Friend. Book Depository has been speedy in their delivery but I’m always dismayed the books turn up a little battered. They’re not as bad as the ones that appeared from Borders though. I’m always meticulous when picking out new books and even the slightest dents and bends puts me off. I like to do the damage to the books myself, thank you very much.

All in all, a nice little Christmas gift to myself.

Merry Christmas everybody!

One comment

  1. Classics always have a special place in my heart. Not only they look bookish and scholarly, classics also never finish to tell the story–they beg re-reading. I have yet to read any Jane Austen this year so I better get on the task. I’ve got Emma and Mansfield Park.

Leave a Reply

