Reading on Mondays

This week’s RoM.

Finished:

  • Les Enfants Terribles by Jean Cocteau. Fantastic and unique read but I suspect a lot of the beauty of the story was lost in translation.
  • Amsterdam by Ian McEwan. Another great read and also the winner of the 1998 Booker Prize. The second McEwan I’ve read (the other being Atonement many years ago) and I’ve decided he has the most beautiful, quiet writing. It’s effective without being garish.
  • The Child’s Book of True Crime by Chloe Hooper. This is part of my attempt to read more Australian writing but this is also a book I’ve been meaning to read for some time. I was not disappointed. It’s a thrilling and, again, unique and different read. Not bad for a debut novel.

Reading:

  • The Age of Reason by Jean-Paul Sartre. I’ve had this for a while but I’ve been waiting for a time where I’ll be able to get right into it. I was on an existentialist movement a few months ago and got a little burnt out. This is a fantastic and, surprisingly, accessible read. Another great existential novel.

Lined up:

Nothing definite but perhaps another classic. And I’ve got a few books waiting at the library about books which are my favourite type of non-fiction – books about books. I have finally tracked down Nicholas Basbane’s A Gentle Madness.

8 comments

  1. I just got the new McEwan and am looking forward to it as I have liked his previous work. Haven’t read Sartre since high school but should perhaps give him another gander now I don’t have to wrestle with translating!

Leave a Reply

