The Wheeler Centre

Already, I think this is going to be one of my most favourite places in the city and it hasn’t even opened yet. The Wheeler Centre (named after Tony and Maureen Wheeler of Lonely Planet) has been under development for the last two years ever since Melbourne was announced as the second City of Literature by UNESCO in 2008 (the first being Edinburgh).

The crux of the centre is to provide a melting pot of ‘books, writing and ideas’ and it is situated beside the State Library of Victoria (also a most lovely place). Everything literary is going to housed under the same roof such as the various writing organisations. What I am most excited about are the ongoing events that are to run from the centre. I think the events are innovative, fun and most importantly of all, allows people from all walks of life and background to enjoy, and be introduced to, quality literature and discover new writers as the majority of events are free.

The three month programme is out and I’ve already booked myself in for around six events, including the opening Story Telling Gala night and ‘In Conversation with Helen Garner’, and marked out many others that I want to go to. I’m most excited about the Lunchbox/Soapbox event with Kate Holden, who is one of my most favourite writers and columnists. The beauty of many of these events is that you can simply wander in and find yourself a place where your mind can be stimulated. With all the writing centres situated under one roof, debuting and established writers, artists, thinkers now have a centralised headquarter. Bibliophiles can also now indulge in literary delights throughout the year rather than the few major events.

(And no, I don’t work for the centre.)

7 comments

  1. OOh, this sounds fab. I bought a book about Melbourne’s UNESCO listing called “Literary Melbourne: A Celebration of Writing and Ideas” which I’m looking forward to reading once I’ve got over the “this-might-make-me-homesick-if-I-open-it” feeling.

  2. Kimbofo – ‘Literary Melbourne’ is on my TBR list too. I think it’s a great celebration of many excellent Melbourne and Australian writers. You’ll have to mark the centre on your to-do list when you next visit. 🙂

    JM – Great news for us Melburnian bibliophiles!

  3. Ahhh looking forward to the Gala night! I wish I lived in Melbourne….maybe I can find a job when I head down 😛

    Are you going to any Writers at the Convent sessions at all?

  4. Elena – no, I wasn’t all that interested in the Convent sessions this year plus, money is slightly tight. I gather you’re going to some? It’s going to be to be one great, literary filled weekend for you!

Leave a Reply

