Library Finds

I found some goodies from the library recently. I try not to borrow many since I want to read my own TBRs but I can’t help myself. Instead, I try to make it equal and alternate between library books and my own.

The titles are:

  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
  • I Dream of Magda – Stefan Laszczuk
  • The Beauty Myth – Naomi Wolf
  • The Well – Elizabeth Jolley
  • Tropic of Cancer – Henry Miller
  • Female Chauvinist Pigs – Ariel Levy
  • To Room Nineteen and other collected stories – Doris Lessing

There’s a bit of a feminist and gender theory theme going on here. An excellent article I read recently has re-sparked my interest and reminded me that it’s been awhile since I read some work on feminist issues. It’s an area I’m hugely interested in and I’ve always leaned towards the feminist stream while doing my arts degree which culminated in a rather feminist theme for my honours thesis where I wrote about female performance, Simone de Beauvoir, Sensation fiction and the idea of the female villain. Oh, it was such fun!

6 comments

  1. Ooh, that does sound like a fun thesis! Female villains are fabulous. I’d like to read The Tropic of Cancer, and Female Chauvenist Pigs sounds interesting…

  2. I share your love for feminist and gender theory texts (your thesis sounds fascinating!) One of my book groups chooses texts of a feminist vein and next month we are discussing The Second Sex; I’ve read parts in the past at Uni but it should make for interesting discussion, especially after reading the article.

  3. Novelinsights – Female villains are fabulous! I had so much fun writing it and researching.

    Claire – your book group sounds interesting! I’ll be interested to hear what other titles you have selected. I haven’t read the entire Second Sex, only passages and largely the second half. It’s a bit heavy going to read all at once.

    uncertainprinciples – Thanks. I am hoping to read more Doris Lessing (if I like this first one) since she appeared to be the rage last year on the blogosphere.

  4. Mae, I may write a post about my book group at some point (any mentions so far can be found under a book group tag) but we’re a face-to-face book group that alternately read fiction and non-fiction with a feminist slant. Recently we have read The Group by Mary McCarthy; Round About a Pound a Week by Maud Pember Reeves; Trouble With Lichen by John Wyndham; Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence… an interesting mix. The Second Sex is quite a heavy one for us to discuss and I doubt I will have a chance to read more than sections before we meet in four weeks.

    I also attend the Riverside Readers book group in London that was created by the bloggers Savidge Reads and Kimbofo.

Leave a Reply

