Literary Crush

Elena, at With Extra Pulp, has started up a new meme which debuted yesterday (Sunday). I’ve decided to join in a day late but it’s better late than never, right?

The rules are pretty simple: Must be a character that appears in a book, comic or graphic novel (because, let’s face it, superheroes are hawt).

One of my long lasting literary crushes has to be Laurie from Little Women. I was devastated, still am actually, when Jo continued to reject Laurie and he ended up marrying Amy. Despite everything turning out well for both Jo and Laurie and their respective partners, you can’t deny the chemistry that was there oozing through the pages and across endless times and oceans. Maybe a slight exaggeration there but you get the idea. 🙂

Here’s a clip of Laurie proposing to Jo with Winona Ryder as Jo and a very young and delicious Christian Bale as Laurie.

“We’d kill each other!”

5 comments

  1. Ohhhh that scene always makes me cry 😦

    This has to be one of the greatest travesties in literary history. Amy was all stuck up and didn’t deserve him. I heart Laurie!

    Welcome to the meme! You’re the first one ^_^

  2. I recently read Little Women and loved it! I also thought Jo and Laurie would end up together and I was disappointed that they didn’t. I still am. I do think she would have had much more fun with Laurie. Oh, and I love Christian Bale! Great actor.

  3. I felt *exactly* the same. I always wanted to kick Jo for not at least giving it a chance. Yes, it all works out for the best, and yes, she did raise some good points about how they’d butt heads, but I also think she rejected the entire idea out of turn. And for Amy’s sake, I truly always felt like Laurie “settled” — he even makes that comment in the book about how “when Mozart couldn’t have one sister, he married the other”. The movie glosses that over, but I still thought it was a bad match.

    1. I feel the same way. He ‘settled’ for Amy. Makes my heart break.

      And thanks for the compliment. I love your site too and great to see another librarian too (who also loves Lost) . 🙂

Leave a Reply

