Pen Pals of Prose

Simon, at Savidge Reads, is setting up a new project that hopes to unite bibliophiles all over the world with the lost art of pen pal-ing. If you’re interested, simply head over to register and you will be sent a registration form.

I’m quite excited about this. It was pretty difficult in the past to get pen pals but the net, a blessing and a curse, made it much easier. I should also probably point out that my pen pals and I largely communicated via email, and very rarely through hand written letters although we did occasionally send each other small parcels which was so exciting. I’m still somewhat in touch with two pen pals with the help of Facebook and it’s pretty interesting to see how the idea of privacy have changed so dramatically.

10 comments

  1. Thanks for posting about this; I’ve always loved pen pals, as much as my third graders do receiving letters from theirs, so I’ll head on over. (and, I agree with you: those rock photgraphs are a little erotic!)

  2. I think I’ll have to check this book out. The premise seems very interesting although with a separate bent than my own. For some reason women in this culture view it as powerful if they have control to degrade themselves without ever stopping to think that’s what they’re doing. Something you said above also called to mind a piece of “Delta of Venus” when one of the characters, a lesbian, had taken on a decidedly masculine air and way of dress with the idea she was then “free from men”. Of course, as Nin pointed out, when the character acted in that manner so intentionally they were hardly “free from men”.

    Great post! I’ll be adding this to my TBR list.

    Would you mind if I added your site to my blogroll?

  3. I have no idea what happened but my comment went on the wrong post… My mouse goes all wonky occasionally and apparently this was one of those times. *sigh* My apologies. ๐Ÿ™‚ That was supposed to go to your review of “Female Chauvinist Pigs”- but you probably figured that out already.

  4. Bellezza – no worries. The more people involved, the merrier!

    Kim – lol, that’s ok. And a good point about Nin’s story in relation. And it’ll be an pleasure to added to your blogroll. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I just signed up for Simon’s project; looking forward to it–I just miss getting handwritten letters from real people, ๐Ÿ™‚ [If you want, I’d love to be penpals with you too–I’ve been stalking your site, and your books and book-thoughts are lovely. Also, I’m trying not to be a creep, haha.]

    1. Haha, thanks heaps. I love your site too and your own musings on books and reading. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wouldn’t mind being a pen pal with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’m very excited to hear that pen-pal is being renewed by bibliophiles. I was just reading about how people send less and less cards for Valentine’s Day and that makes me sad. I’ve always appreciated that personal touch of actually writing something on paper.

    1. Wouldn’t the world be a much better place if it was run by bibliophiles? ๐Ÿ™‚ I always appreciate the personal touch too and I always hope people who gives me books to write something in it.

  7. Thanks for the link! I’ve been thinking a lot lately about letter writing. Putting a card each in the mail for both my grandmothers and my parents today, I realised how much I love sending things in the post.

    I used to have a pen pal arrangement with my cousin, and more recently with a girl I used to live with. Both died off unfortunately. But perhaps I can get started again!

Leave a Reply

