New Books!

I love new books. It’s amazing how the excitement still hasn’t left me hence the joyful exclamation mark in the title. New books always calls for exciting exclamation marks.

New titles are:

  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson.
  • Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre
  • The Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault translated by Angela Carter
  • Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson

There was a revival of Shirley Jackson’s gothic tales on the blogosphere last year. I’ve been looking for her books in various libraries, public and universities, but surprisingly, she is very difficult to find. I enjoyed my first foray into Sartre with The Age of Reason so I’m looking forward to tackling Nausea in the near future. Angela Carter’s translation of the french fairy tales by Charles Perrault is something I’m excited to read next. And Bill Bryson’s book is something I picked up on sale which made it cheaper than the already cheap $9.95 it usually sells for. These cheap Orange Penguins are fantastic because it allows you to dabble into literature that you mightn’t have considered before especially non-fiction.

I must gush about the beautiful Penguin Modern Classics covers. They are just so gorgeous and really inspires one to pick up their books which is important if titles or authors are unfamiliar.

I have to say my favourite is Angela Carter’s with Shirley Jackson’s running a close second.

8 comments

  1. I adore the white Penguin Classics. Have a few of them, but always feel like buying them when bookshopping!

    I’ve had the Shirley Jackson on my list for a while, and I do love Angela Carter! So, looking forward to your thoughts on those.

    As for Bill Bryson – I went through a phase in 2008, when I read about four of his books, back to back! Mother Tongue was one of them, and it was immense.

    Nice haul!

  2. I have the Angela Carter Perrault translation in another copy but far prefer this prettier one. However, as I rule (I’ve posted about it in the past), I much prefer the shiny, colourful silver Penguin Modern Classics to the new matte, muted photograph ones.

    I loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle!

    1. I like both but I do love the boldness of the matte covers. The cover of Angela Carter’s is so … sexy and fitting. Who would have thought that from a close up of a dirty heel?

      I can’t wait to read We have always lived in the castle!

  3. I agree, new books are always fun! I love shiny new covers. I found a quote recently that I really like.

    The possession of a book becomes a substitute for reading it. – Anthony Burgess

    I don’t think it justifies my book buying but I do feel better buying them, even if it may be awhile before I get to it.

    1. That’s a lovely quote but it also a little double-edged isn’t it? It can mean that simply having a book is comforting and the next best thing to reading it but it can also be directed to those people who prefer to buy books simply to display them but never open a page. Very sly, Anthony Burgess!

      I like to think of my book buying habit as an ‘investment’ for my future. 🙂 Thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

