Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT:

In honor of National Grammar Day … it IS “March Fourth” after all … do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?

This sounds pretty bad but I can’t really recall ever being taught grammar. I’m sure I was taught in primary school but it wasn’t exactly emphasised. Apparently, as I discovered not so long ago, that my generation was the victim of a new style of teaching that kind of left grammar out of the curriculum. So – grammar isn’t my strong point which is pretty embarrassing especially since I did my honours in English and plan to do a doctorate in English in the near future.

I should do one of those little day courses that goes over the grammar but it seems that the more I’m told about it, the more confusing it becomes and the worse my grammar gets! I skimmed through Lynne Truss’ Eat, Shoots and Leaves but that was more about punctuation. I’m pretty lax towards grammar but I do get a laugh when somebody writes ‘grammer’ and not ‘grammar’.

9 comments

  1. I was taught grammar, but apparently not to the extent that they used to teach it. My aunt called me and asked for help diagramming a sentence and I didn’t have a clue what she was talking about. I still don’t.

  2. I essentially had to learn it on my own and, honestly, a good deal of my like for it comes from reading so much. If you read well, you’ll probably write and speak well which is, I’m assuming, why your higher education in English is going so swimmingly. ;O)

  3. I have to say that I learned more about grammar from my French lessons than I did in English lessons. I agree, too, with Pam, above, when she says that those who read a lot are more likely to write and speak well, even if we don’t necessarily know the theory behind it.

    I’ve read the ubiquitous ‘Eats, Shoots, and Leaves’. I was entertained, but I’m not as rigid as Lynne Truss. I believe language evolves naturally, and what was grammatically incorrect three generations ago might not always be so in the future. That’s not to say that blatant grammatical mistakes aren’t hilarious…

  4. I think the best way to truly learn grammar and spelling is by reading and, at some point, writing–even if it’s one’s journal or online postings.

    ~~

Leave a Reply

