New Orange Penguins

The titles of the next batch of the popular Orange Penguins have been released! There are 75 titles this time in celebration of Penguin’s 75th year. They all look so exciting and I want so many of them already. I’m a bit disappointed that they’re publishing The Wizard of Oz and  Nausea after all the trouble I went to find them and have just recently bought them! Also delighted, but also very annoyed, that Shirley Jackson is being published too along with M.J. Hyland’s debut novel (which I also just got).

I’m pretty excited that they’re publishing Muriel Spark since I’ve heard many positive reviews of her writing on other blogs. The list is quite inspiring and I love it. There’s a few F. Scott Fitzgeralds, Kafkas, interesting inclusions of writings by Leonard Cohen and Andy Warhol, plays and some excellent Australian writing.

At the moment, there doesn’t seem to a list up and only a video which is slightly annoying. You can view it here:

I’ve listed them here but I can’t make out some authors.

  • The Wizard of Oz – Frank L Baum
  • Foe – J.M. Coetzee
  • Dangerous Liaisons
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  • The Prophet
  • The Thirty-Nine Steps
  • One Hundred Great Books in Haiku
  • The Invisible Man
  • Obernewtyn
  • The Lady in the Lake – Raymond Chandler
  • Seven Little Australians
  • Poems – Michael Leunig
  • The Little Prince
  • Our Sunshine – Robert Drewe
  • Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland
  • Three Men in a Boat – Jerome K. Jerome
  • Three Tales from the Arabian Nights
  • I Can Jump Puddles – Alan Marshall
  • It’s Raining in Mango – Thea Astley
  • Lucky Jim – Kingsley Amis
  • The Psychology of Love
  • The Ghost Road – Pat Barker
  • Washington Square – Henry James
  • The Trial – Franz Kafka
  • Therese Raquin – Emile Zola
  • Hamlet
  • How the Light Gets In – M.J. Hyland
  • The Go-Between – L.P. Priestly? Hartley?
  • Gulliver’s Travels
  • On Natural Selection – Charles Darwin
  • Pygmalion – George Bernard Shaw
  • Howl, Kaddish and other poems – Allen Ginsberg
  • The Shiralee – D’arcy Niland
  • Beowulf
  • Postcards from Surfers – Helen Garner
  • From Russia with Love – Ian Flemming
  • Hard Times -Charles Dickens
  • Keep the Aspidistra Flying – George Orwell
  • The Sheltering Sky – Paul Bowles
  • Civilisation and its Discontents – Sigmund Freud
  • The Communist Manifesto – Karl Marx (what about Engles?)
  • Raffles
  • Nausea
  • The Jungle Book
  • The Philosophy of Andy Warhol – Andy Warhol
  • The Call of the Wild – Jack London
  • Scoop – Evelyn Waugh
  • The Lost Estate – … Alain-Fournier
  • Hedda Gabler and other plays – Henrik Ibsen
  • How we are Hungry
  • Confessions of an English Opium Eater – Thomas de Quincy
  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  • Selected Poems – John Keats
  • Book of Longing – Leonard Cohen
  • The Inheritance of Loss – Kiran Desai
  • Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
  • In the Winter Dark – Tim Winton
  • Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
  • Surrender – Sonya Hartnett
  • The Beautiful and the Damned – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Playing Beatie Bow – Ruth Park
  • The Pit and the Pendulum – Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Periodic Table
  • The Happy Prince and other stories
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie – Muriel Spark
  • Around the World in Eighty Days
  • The Power of One – Bryce Courtenay
  • Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
  • Notes from the Underground – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson
  • To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Inferno  – Dante

Edit: Penguin has put up the official list. And also thanks to Dominique for posting the link to the list earlier. It’s pretty exciting!

What do you think of the list?

14 comments

    1. Ah, thanks for the link! Bit of a nightmare typing the whole thing out. I like that this list if more varied and ‘out there’ rather than the usual staples.

  1. I’ve wanted to read The Thirty-Nine Steps ever since I saw it listed for one of PBS’ Masterpiece Classic episodes this winter. Then, it appeared again in The Guardian list of 1,000 Books You Must Read Before You Die, and now here in your post. Time to pick it up, I think!

    1. I’ve been wanting to The Thirty-Nine Steps too. Awhile ago, a small theatre company did a production of it and the posters were so enticing. The title seems to be on many lists but also seems to slip under the radar, overshadowed by other more popular and well known titles.

    1. I think I heard awhile back that Penguin UK was thinking of copying the same promotion since it’s shown to be a huge success here. I don’t know what’s happening with that though but I’m so grateful for whoever took on the big risk and gave the green light for the project in Aus!

  2. Oh my goodness! ‘Playing Beatie bow’! I was only thinking of that this morning… this was a favourite of mine too as a child 🙂
    Thanks for letting me know about this new issue of Penguins. I’ve only seen the odd one here and there in stores but this is a beautiful, eclectic mix.
    I’m excited about the Muriel Spark – been meaning to read that for ages.

    1. I’m so jealous of your Orange Penguin mug! I’ve been lusting one after one of those but they’re a bit too expensive for a mug. Did you know they have notebooks too?

  3. Very interesting list! I’d love to get my hands on the Cohen, as I love his music (and his lyrics) but don’t own any of his books. Also, like you I’ve been meaning to read some Muriel Spark. I’ll definitely keep an eye out for these editions.

    1. Hi Nymeth. I love Leonard Cohen too and his wonderfully poetic lyrics. I’m glad Penguin is publishing his work in the new series since I’m not that aware of his other writings. The man’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

