Millennium Movies

Tonight, I went and saw the first Millennium movie, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and it was brilliant. Even though I have recently read the books, I still felt the suspense. The main actors were fantastic particularly Noomi Rapace who plays Lisbeth Salander. When I saw first saw her in the trailers, I wasn’t too sure, but Rapace was outstanding in the movie. Strangely (or perhaps not), I liked the film version of Mikael Blomkvist better because he was less of a Don Juan. There were scenes which were extremely hard to watch, as expected, since they were also very difficult to read because they were so violent. My friend, who hadn’t read the books, was horrified.

I can’t wait until the second film, The Girl who Played with Fire, is released. I hope it won’t be as long as it took for the release of the first which was over a year.

Here is the trailer for it:

And here is the trailer for the third and final film, The Girl who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest:

What do you think about these films?

Edit: Hollywood is remaking the movies. Why am I not surprised? The worst thing is, Kristen Stewart (from Twilight) is on the shortlist to play Lisbeth apparently. Why can’t Hollywood stay away?

16 comments

  1. Is there a petition against Kristen Stewart as Lisbeth…seriously, just no.

    I would love to go and see this movie. Not sure I could take my son with me so it might have to wait for the DVD.

  2. I really should get around to reading these books, sometimes feels like I’m the only one left who hasn’t read them yet!
    Aside from the casting issues, David Fincher is generally pretty reliable when it comes to literary adaptations so hopefully he’ll manage to do something innovative with it.

    1. With these books, you either love or hate them. If you do get around to reading them, I hope you enjoy them! I’m generally not into popular or crime fiction but I somehow got sucked into this one.

      As reliable as David Fincher is, I still don’t really see why Hollywood must get their hands on it. It’s essentially a Swedish story.

  3. I just don’t get the remake fever. Why?!

    I’m in the same boat as Jess… I often feel like the only person who’s yet to read these books 😛

    1. Agree about remake fever. Why must all popular movies be Anglo-cized? I guess it’s somewhat good in that it might appeal to the broader audience…

  4. I haven’t read them! That makes three of us 😛

    I saw this movie on its preview night and really enjoyed it (but like your friend, could not handle some of the really horribly violent scenes). This might have been because my sis-in-law had read them all and just finished telling me the violence in the book is conveyed in a way that isn’t gratuitous. I guess the film wasn’t either. But yikes!

    And ggrrrr the remake thing bugs me. The film has already grossed pretty well at the box office, I don’t see how a Hollywoodised version is necessary. Would the original filmmakers get paid rights? Or just Larsson’s literary estate?

    I kind of feel sorry for the actor who played Blomkvist cause so many reviews just talked about how unattractive he was, and ignored his (in my opinion) pretty good acting.

    1. Yeah, I didn’t want to give away much in the story to my friend but I did say there were some violent scenes in the book that I really didn’t want to see acted out. That probably wasn’t warning enough. Agree about how the violence wasn’t gratuitous. It just demonstrated how sadistic people, perhaps more than we think there are, really are.

      I’m thinking the Larsson estate would probably get the royalties. And that’s an interesting story in itself since there’s an ongoing legal battle between Larsson’s long time partner and his father and brother. Larsson left his estate to his partner but under Swedish law, because the two weren’t married, his estate went to his immediate family instead.

      1. Yeah the legal stuff is very interesting! (And sad for the partner.) Apparently, they never married because he hated Nazis and was doing investigative journalism stuff on the Nazi party/groups in Sweden. And they were known for tracking people down through legal documents. So he was protecting his partner by not legally marrying her, and now all this has happened 😦
        (Strong emphasis on ‘apparently’ though. ^_^)

  5. hmm…she may not be bad actually, I think. And David Fincher is usually pretty reliable.

    I just hope they don’t Americanize the story though. That would be just terrible

  6. Am reading the third book in the series. Found it hard to get into the first one, but once I did I got hooked by the characters. Would love to see the movies, but will have to wait for the DVDs. Will boycott Hollywood re-makes on principle. Some things should just be left alone.

    1. It’s not just remaking the film that’s supremely annoying but the need to Americanise everything. They’re already remaking ‘Let the Right One In’ and apparently, they’ve changed the main characters’ names to better suit the American audience. Gah!

      Hope you enjoy the third and last book. I didn’t find it as suspenseful as the first two and thought it was longer than it had to. The publisher must have everything it could in since it is the last book in the series and by Larsson. I did enjoy it though. It really quickens in the last quarter and Lisbeth is awesome.

  7. I didn’t know the movie that came out is a Swedish movie and the Hollywood one is out much later! I just presumed it was a Hollywood movie. Silly me.. I don’t think I’m gonna read the book at this stage, but I’m interested to see the film!

    1. For once, the film is actually almost as good as the books. You should go in prepared though – some scenes are quite violent. Those who had read the books had the advantage of knowing when those scenes were coming and what they were. Still – it was difficult!

Leave a Reply

