Dymocks Top 101 Books

Australian bookstore chain, Dymocks, compiles readers favourite books annually. I’m a little late with this one but I always love a list. Here is the list for 2010.

Those in bold are the ones I’ve read.

1 The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer

2 The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

3 Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

4 The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

5 The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

6 The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

7 To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

8 The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

9 My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

10 The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

11 The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

12 Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

13 Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

14 The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

15 Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

16 Magician by Raymond E. Feist

17 Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

18 The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

19 Cloudstreet by Tim Winton

20 The Host by Stephenie Meyer

21 Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cunxin

22 Atonement by Ian McEwan

23 The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

24 Angels and Demons by Dan Brown

25 A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

26 Cross Stitch by Diana Gabaldon

27 Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

28 The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

29 Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

30 Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

31 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

32 Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden

33 Obernewtyn by Isobelle Carmody

34 The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

35 The Inheritance Series by Christopher Paolini

36 The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

37 Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer

38 The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

39 The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

40 Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

41 Ice Station by Matthew Reilly

42 The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay

43 Persuasion by Jane Austen

44 Tully by Paullina Simons

45 Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly

46 Breath by Tim Winton

47 The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

48 Life of Pi by Yann Martel

49 A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

50 The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

51 Emma by Jane Austen

52 The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

53 The Bible

54 Six Sacred Stones by Matthew Reilly

55 A Fortunate Life by A.B. Facey

56 We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

57 The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

58 Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

59 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

60 The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

61 People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

62 The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

63 The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

64 Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

65 Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

66 The Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris (Only the first. It was awful.)

67 Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

68 Five Greatest Warriors by Matthew Reilly

69 On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

70 The Princess Bride by William Goldman

71 The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

72 Wicked by Gregory Maguire

73 Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

74 Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama

75 Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

76 Dewey by Vicki Myron

77 Dirt Music by Tim Winton

78 Marley and Me by John Grogan

79 Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

80 Dune by Frank Herbert

81 The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

82 The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

83 Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

84 War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

85 The Road by Cormac McCarthy

86 Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

87 The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (Only The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.)

88 The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

89 Possession by AS Byatt

90 Finnikin of The Rock by Melina Marchetta

91 No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

92 Graceling by Kristin Cashore

93 The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

94 The Secret History by Donna Tartt

95 Silent Country by Di Morrissey

96 Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

97 Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

98 The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

99 Still Alice by Lisa Genova

100 The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

101 Gallipoli by Les Carlyon

I’ve read 37 titles. It’s a very ‘now’ list and it’s awful that Twilight is number one. However, I do like that there’s a nice mixture of youth and adult literature along with some core classics. I’m surprised at how fast some titles have made their way onto the list seeing as some were only published last year. And, of course, it’s always great to see some great Australian titles included.

What do you think of the list?

12 comments

  1. The thing that jumps out for me is how many of the top books in this list have been made into films or television adaptations recently. This cannot be a coincidence. I know that a lot of authors (and readers) are often disappointed by adaptations of their writing but there’s no question that they bring more readers to the work, which is a great thing.

    1. I didn’t even notice that point! You’re right though and I think that, however dreadful the movie adaptations are, they do bring new readers to works they mightn’t have ever picked up.

  2. I love a list as well. This one sure seems to cover the spectrum from Twilight to Dorian Gray.

    I loved you comment over at Things Mean a Lot on Ethan Frome. I was going to comment on Lisa Simpson as well but thought that might be lowering the tone. Then I noticed that you mentioned it. Fabulous.

    1. Haha, thanks. I think anything that manages to include great literature in pop culture should receive some kudos. And I certainly don’t think mentioning The Simpsons would be lowering the tone at all. 🙂 This is, after all, a show that also managed to include their own production of A Streetcar Named Desire, references to Simone de Beauvoir, The Tell-Tale Heart…

  3. Great list! Very diverse and one I might repost. I’m very surprised you haven’t read LoTR. The rest, well, wow, you’ve read a wonderfully diverse crowd of books. 🙂

    1. I’ll be interested to see which titles you’ve read and what you think of it since it somewhat Australian-centric. I’m not all that big a fan of fantasy. I did love the movies though and I read most of the appendixes but sadly, not the actual books.

      Thanks for the compliment. You’re much to kind! 🙂

  4. One of the (many) books I’ve wanted to read from this list is The Hunger Games. Hopefully I can get to it this summer. You’ve done a good job knocking them off your list! I always like seeing The Time Traveler’s Wife listed, which I loved, but one of my book clubs loathed. I think they were too old to get it. 😉

    1. I’m not at all familiar with The Hunger Games so must look into that. I liked the Time Traveller’s Wife – it was very imaginative and so believable. Plus, I liked the fact that Henry was a librarian. 🙂

  5. I think its a really good list – I love Christopher Paolini’s books so pleased to see he’s on there and Gone with the Wind – a really great book. Its a very diverse list!

    1. I’ve never read Paolini’s books but I guess it’s good that he’s still popular with his fans. GWTW completely intimidates me!

  6. I’m with you on the Sookie Stackhouse series. I too only read the first and found it appalling. I can’t tell you how many times I threw it due to frustration at its inconsistent characters and corny ‘romance’.

    1. It was shocking. I give marks to Harris’ imagination but, really, it was truly awful writing. I’m just jealous she can actually write for a living.

Leave a Reply

