Long Weekend Delights

Finally, the long weekend is upon us and wholly due to a certain queen celebrating her birthday. It’s been a hectic few weeks and there are several more to come before things, hopefully, will quieten down a bit. I’ve been a bad blogger these past weeks and a bad reader. I’m nearly finished with Jude which I am enjoying immensely (although Arabella does make my blood boil) and I hope to squeeze in some more reading the next few days. The weather has also been quite horrid (hello Winter! and lashings of Rain!) so I’m looking forward to bunkering down in bed with doonas, books, sweet goodies and hot drinks.

'Still Life with Drawing Board, Pipe, Onions and Sealing-Wax' (1889) - Vincent van Gogh

Things I’m hoping to get done:

  • Finish Jude the Obscure. I think I’ve been reading this for three weeks, although I did get distracted by Lost for about a week.
  • Ignore the still very large pile of library books and start something from my own collection. However, I did just borrow The Uncommon Reader today (the perils of going near libraries) and it would a very fitting read…
  • Watch a few DVDs. I finally got my hands on The Lovely Bones. I also have the first season of the Tudors and back episodes of, er, Glee.
  • Visit and catch up with the many lovely other bloggers that I’ve been neglecting these past few weeks.
  • I found an answer to my dilemma of the ‘reading elbow’: a Book Seat!
  • Get up, or stay up, on Monday morning (at 4am!) to catch the first Australian FIFA match: Australia vs Germany. I’m going for the aussies, of course, but I do have a soft spot for the Germans. There’s a bit more of an affinity between aussie fans because we all have stayed or woken up at the strangest hours to watch a ball being kicked around. I love the understanding that passes between people who are bleary eyed, grunt ‘soccer’ and the understanding nod. Ah, soccer mania. 🙂
15 comments

  1. It is summer on this side of the world, and when I get tired of the heat, I remember how thoroughly sick we got of snow. 🙂 I have been on the fence about seeing the movie adaptation of The Lovely Bones. My daughter and I enjoyed the book because of the lovely writing rather than the plot — how will it translate to screen? I will be interested to hear what you think.

    1. Yes, I’m a bit iffy about film adaptations but this is one I’ve been wanting to see. I trust Peter Jackson and I think Saoraise Ronan is a fantastic young actress so I’m hoping it will be good although, no doubt, one of the most beautiful things about the book was the writing.

  2. That sounds like a lovely weekend! Hope you enjoy The Uncommon Reader, it´s so lovely.

    We´re having summer of course, but I´m still going to spend the rest of this evening in bed with a cup of tea and a good book 🙂

    And soccer mania is big here as well, I´m not a huge fan of prefessional soccer, but I´m cheering for the underdogs 🙂

    1. I’ve heard good things about The Uncommon Reader. I started reading a few pages and it’s got a good grip on me already!

      Yay for the underdogs! I still remember their match against the almighty Brazil at the last world cup. We put up a great fight.

  3. Love the painting. Love Van Gogh. 🙂

    Enjoy the footy. Am counting on Germany to gets a fair few points in my fantasy team, so…. you know where my interest lies! 🙂

    The Uncommon Reader is a quick read – shouldn’t be more than a sitting or two, but it’s actually really enjoyable. Hope you like it.

    Happy Saturday!

    1. Lovely to see you back!

      I was surprised to see it was by Van Gogh. I thought his strokes were a bit more different…more strong. I just get sold on whatever painting features a book in it really, even it does also feature onions and chopping boards. 🙂

  4. I too hope you get to The Uncommon Reader. It is a little delight. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I am freezing in Toowoomba if it is any consolation.

    Enjoy your weekend!

    1. I thought Toowoomba was a sunny place? Although, when I last went up to the Gold Coast, it was pouring with rain the whole time we were there.

      Hope you enjoy your weekend too. 🙂

  5. It sounds like a lovely weekend and I hope you enjoyed it!

    The Book Seat made me laugh, but then it might work. I’m not sure how I would like reading without holding the book, in my mind it feels all wrong.

    1. Thanks Iris. 🙂 I think the Book Seat could actually be nifty. That way, I can tuck both of my hands under the blankets in winter and my hands won’t freeze! Also, my hands won’t ache with the heavier books!

  6. Sounds like a perfect long weekend Mae. Of course, I won’t tell you that I am currently in Kakadu and enjoyihng somewhat warmer sunnier climes. Dining outside is such a trial! LOL. But you enjoy your doona. That will be me in less than a week again too!

    1. Ooh, Kakadu sounds lovely! Luckily, the weather hasn’t been too bad here which I’m a little annoyed about. What better way to fully appreciate staying home than to have the rain and wind howling outside?

  7. I was up at 4.30 this morning to watch a disappointing result. Just about to go back to bed for a while. Already started thinking about when the next game is on.

    I read The Uncommon Reader last year, and thought it was a fun, quick read.

  8. I remember really enjoying Jude the Obscure, but an English teacher said to me ‘Oh I can’t read that, it’s too depressing.’ Maybe she was in the wrong job!

    1. Haha. I really enjoyed Jude but I don’t think I can re-read it again for awhile which also goes for Tess of the D’urbevilles. Great story and writing but yes, very depressing.

Leave a Reply

