Reading Slump and an Opera

Well, it seems I’ve hit a bit of a reading slump. I’m rarely getting a chance to settle down with my book and when I finally do, it’s at the end of the night and after a page or two, I’m already falling asleep! I’m halfway through Nausea which I’m enjoying immensely but perhaps something a little fluffier for my next read.

Danielle Calder as the Governess, Victoria Opera, 2010

In other news, I attended the Turn of the Screw Opera this week. It was quite fantastic and I thought the two young performers playing Flora and Miles were great. I had never heard a child sing Opera before. The Opera was sung in English and even so, I think we were all relieved when the subtitles came on after the prologue! It was a very small cast and small stage but the props were nicely used particularly the ingenious idea of using a dollhouse to signify the rambling, Gothic mansion. The ghostly appearances of Peter Quint and Miss Jessel were nicely done too and it never failed to amuse me when my friend jumped every time they materialised on stage. I’m not an expert in Opera but the voices were beautiful. And it might be me but I never realised how overt the pedophilia overtones are. I must re-read the story again.

11 comments

  1. Nice post Mae – sometimes it is good to get out and do something else, blog something else. I’m not in a slump so much as not finding time to finish my book. Very frustrating!

    1. Finding time to read is also a challenge these days! And stopping myself falling asleep once I do get a chance to crack open the book.

  2. I’ve never heard of this. Is it based upon a book? Sadly I have never attended an opera, only listened or viewed them through recordings. Someday I hope to be able to attend one at The Metropolitan Opera in NYC. That’s a long way off though, I’m afraid. Thanks for sharing, Mae!

    1. Yes, it’s based on the Henry James’ short story. I’ve attended two, this being the second, and I think it’s a great experience hearing it live. My first was Madame Butterfly which wasn’t too shabby. 🙂 I remember watching it on videos in music classes in high school and it’s definitely not the same and much more difficult to appreciate so kudos to you!

  3. Very interesting post! Another art forms inspires you to re-read the story again.

    I am on a reading tear right now, but since it’s too hot to do anything else on my side of the world, ….

    1. Definitely. And this is much better than a movie adaptation!

      Ah, I always have that problem. I think I’ll dive right into all these great books once summer rolls around and when it does, I can’t be bothered to anything because it’s simply too hot.

  4. Too bad about your reading slump, hope it´ll get better for you soon 🙂

    The opera sounds fantastic! I´ve only seen two and in Italian (so the subtitles were really helpful), but I enjoyed them much more than I thought I would.

    1. Thanks Bina.

      Ooh, which operas did you see? Italian is the classic operatic language though and it’s just beautiful. I enjoy opera more than i think I would too. I’m converted now.

Leave a Reply

