Birthday Book Loot

Another birthday past this weekend and I turned yet another year older (as one generally does when one has a birthday). To spoil myself, I gave my credit card and the various book stores a good work out and added to the increasingly overwhelming TBR pile!

  • It’s Raining in Mango by Thea Astley.
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl. This was a free promotional copy that Penguin sent for signing up to their blog.
  • An Accommodating Spouse by Elizabeth Jolley. Picked this up at the book market.
  • Let’s Kill Uncle by Rohan O’Grady.
  • Mrs Ames by E. F. Benson.
  • Elizabeth and her German Garden by Elizabeth von Arnim.
  • The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy.
  • Aurora Floyd by Mary Elizabeth Braddon. This one came from Book Depository quite squished. Not too happy about that.
  • The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins.
  • The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy. Building my Hardy collection quite nicely!
  • Kitchen Essays by Agnes Jekyll.
  • Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple. Ah, my first Persephones!

I love this loot but I have no idea when I’ll get through them. There are twelve books there and if I read an average of one a week, I’ll need three months. Ah well. Now all I need to is to go get that darn bookshelf.

16 comments

  1. Happy Birthday Mae! Seems to be many August babies in the book blogging world. ๐Ÿ™‚ And what a lovely pile of books to boot! Hope you had a brilliant birthday weekend.

  2. A very Happy Birthday to you, Mae! I only have Someone From A Distance from your pile, but I’ll read it ‘with’ you when you’re ready. Let me know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh dear, I missed this one too. Where have I been? Anyhow, what a lovely loot. Great choices – particularly the Astley, the Jolley and the von Arnim. Have you got going on any of them?

Leave a Reply

