Booking Through Thursday

I haven’t done one of BTTs in awhile but I realised that Deb has posted my question that I asked earlier in the year! So I guess it can only be fitting that I join in. 🙂

“I couldn’t sleep a wink, so I just read and read, day and night … it was there I began to divide books into day books and night books,” she went on. “Really, there are books meant for daytime reading and books that can be read only at night.”
– ‘The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera, p. 103.

Do you divide your books into day and night reads? How do you decide?

To a degree, I do. I don’t consciously divide my books but I find that my brain is more perceptive to some books during different times of the day as I discovered during uni. Lighter books that don’t need too much concentration are read during the day. The more difficult books, including non-fiction and theories, are read during the night. There’s really no point in trying to read and digest them during the day because I’d just need to re-read everything at night. I find I like reading classics most during the night.

This passage really struck me because I have sleep issues and am a semi-insomniac. I’m generally nocturnal and do everything better at night. It also makes me feel better and more energetic than during the day and in sunlight (perhaps I’m secretly a vampire. I do sparkle some times). All my best uni work, writing and research was done at 3am. 12am to around 4.30am is/was my peak and most productive period. Of course, since I started working, I can’t do that anymore but I always find myself up at 3.30ish on my days off even without meaning to.

8 comments

  1. I dont actually divide because once I’ve got my teeth into a book, I just cannot let it go. Also, since I am working most of the reading has to be done in the evenings.

  2. Great question.
    Yes, I agree, for whatever reason, I find non-fiction easier to digest at night – probably because it’s easier to focus. I like ‘light’ reading while I’m having a meal (obviously, during the day) and everything else whenever I can fit it in. As I get older I’m finding that my reading speed is slowing down, so I’ve had to adjust to that as well. No more ‘zooming’ through books I’m afraid.

  3. Interesting question!

    I prefer to study at night, so I guess my night books are non-fiction, too 🙂 But there are also books that draw you into an exciting, creepy world and you have to read well into the night to finish them while you jump at the sounds of the rain against your window.

    My day books are cosy reads, which I read with a pot of tea in the afternoons. Or books that I can read on the commute which are not so addicting that I’m tempted not to get off at my stop 🙂

  4. Can I join you in your semi-vampire club? Although I admit blood scares me to bits.. It’s just.. I can’t seem to sleep lately and I’ve always been an evening/night person, so there you go. Yes, I usually read and study better at night.

Leave a Reply

