New Releases

Firstly, I’ve been a bad blogger lately so apologies for the lackluster updates and visits to your blogs. I’ve been lurking but only commenting occasionally. 🙂

Spring is in the air and summer is just around the corner and perhaps that the reason why there seems to be an onslaught of fantastic new releases. Here are the titles I’m very excited about:

The Romantic by Kate Holden. Labelled as a follow up to her 2005 memoir, In My Skin, this book chronicles Holden’s life after she overcomes her drug addiction. Kate Holden is also a fortnightly columnist in A2 and she’s one of my favourite Melbourne writers.

Great House by Nicole Krauss. I’ve never read anything by Krauss before but this book sounds so intriguing and well thought out. I love old houses and furniture and this one sounds like something right out of Dickens.

Harbour by John Ajvide Lindqvist. I’m quite a fan of Lindqvist (Let the Right One In, Handling the Undead) so I was excited to hear that he has a new novel out. Typical of Lindqvist, he mixes horror with the study of relationships. While his books may contain zombies and vampires, the horror is always very subdued and is a way of demonstrating mass perception.

I rarely become excited about new releases and tend to stay away until the hype goes down but these titles all sound fantastic. I hope they won’t be a let down once I get my hands on them! What about you? Have you heard of these titles? What titles are you  looking forward to?

5 comments

  1. I can’t wait to read the new Nicole Krauss. I still have to buy it of course, but I am looking forward to it. I loved The History of Love!

  2. Haha, it’s so weird that you’re talking about spring and summer when I’m putting together a cosy winter reading list 😀

    I’m very excited about Krauss’ new book as well, I loved her other two. I haven’t really checked what else is being released so no specific excitement (yet, will have to do some research 🙂 ).

  3. There’s no such thing as a bad blogger Mae – this is supposed to be fun so you should blog and comment what you want and when you want. We do not need anymore stress in our busy lives.

    BTW I’m going to read the Kate Holden too – in the next few weeks I hope.

Leave a Reply

