Heartbreaking Reads Round Up

A big thank you to everybody have recommended titles to me. All have been duly noted and now I can hardly wait to pick up some titles I immediately put on reservation at the library. For all those interested, I have rounded up the list although I haven’t included the ones I’ve already read. Please feel free to keep adding to it!

  • Lucy Gayheart – Willa Cather
  • Doctor Zhivago – Boris Pasternak
  • Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami
  • Ethan Frome – Edith Wharton (I’m going to read this next! The only thing I know about this is that Lisa Simpson received a first edition from her uncle! 🙂 )
  • Half a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • The Night Watch – Sarah Waters
  • Affinity – Sarah Waters
  • On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan
  • When Will There Be Good News – Kate Atkinson
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver
  • Revolutionary Road – Richard Yates
  • A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
  • Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  • The House of Mirth – Edith Wharton
  • Romeo and Juliet – Shakespeare (daddy of all tragedies!)
6 comments

  1. Here is a late addition to your list: “Dark Places” by Gillian Flynn. It is sort of a thriller, but I was absolutely devastated after reading it. I still think about it from time to time, and get the same strong feeling of sadness as when I read it.

Leave a Reply

