Bookish Travel Plans

Some of you lovely readers might remember that I put out a call to any travel buddies and a preliminary travel plan last year. I can’t believe it was all the way in September! Where did the time go? Since I’m a little unmotivated to post any reviews up, I thought I would put an update on what has eventually transpired.

I’m still heading off going alone, and quite nervously too, at the end of March. I’ll have a stopover in South Korea before stomping off to Central Europe for a little over two weeks – Vienna, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Krakow and ending in Budapest. That was supposed to be the end of my trip but, by a miraculous coincidence (!), my leave slides right into the Easter holidays so I decided it would be a waste not to spend more time overseas. I’m now ending my trip in London where I’ll be there for around four days. I’m already planning my trips to all the (free!) museums, Charing Cross, and the British Library and scoping out possible trips to Highgate and Hay-on-Wye and of course, a stop at Persephone. The anxiety of lugging home potential book purchases in my tiny 50 litre backpack is already weighing heavily on my mind! I’m already quite anxious at allowing myself only two books to bring along.

In the other countries, I’ve already scouted possible bookish visits including various state libraries. I’ve come across this really useful bookstore guide around Europe.

To anybody who will be in or around these cities during this time, it’ll be great to meet up and have a coffee or to simply see a familiar ‘face’. ๐Ÿ™‚ Tips on bookstores/bookish sights I must visit will also be much appreciated.

19 comments

  1. I so envy you! Even though I know you were hoping to have some travel buddies to go with, sometimes they can more of a hinderance. At least this way you can do what you want, when you want and not be tied to anyone’s schedule.

    You MUST take pics when you visit Perspehone Books.

    1. Yes, that’s true, and I can stare at paintings and browse in bookstores for as long as I like. I’m already slightly dreading visiting the Persephone store because I know I’d want every title in the store!

  2. So jealous! Sounds like you’re in for a fantastic time though. Even more jealous as I have no vacations or breaks planned!

    Give me a shout if in London and have some time – would be awesome to meet up.

    1. To make you feel a little better, I haven’t had a proper holiday for over a year! ๐Ÿ™‚ Or a proper overseas trip. Never had the time or money and now I have both!

      Definitely. It would be great to meet up. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

