One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four … and Five…

This fun meme is floating around blogosphere lately having originated from Stuck in a Book so I thought I’d give it a go too.

1 – The book I’m currently reading:

I’m halfway through One of Our Thursdays is Missing by Jasper Fforde. I’m in love with this series and it’s one of few, if any, fantasy books I read. The little literary in-jokes, the word play, satire and sheer imagination of Jasper Fforde never fails to amuse me. Here’s one passage that illustrates why I snorted out loud on the train:

[Lady Shalott] wasn’t the only one to be physically morphed by Reader Expectation. Miss Havisham was now elderly whether she liked it or not, and Sherlock Holmes wore a deerstalker and smoked a ridiculously large pipe. The problem wasn’t just confined to the classics. Harry Potter was seriously pissed off that he’d have to spend the rest of his life looking like Daniel Radcliffe. – p. 75

And one of my favourite passages so far:

Unlike Acheron, who differed wildly from his in-book persona, Bertha really was bonkers. She had come to us after a gruelling forty-six-year stint as Anne Catherick in The Woman in White, and was now quite beyond any form of rehabilitation. In a cruel and ironic twist, Grace Poole kept our version of Bertha Rochester locked up securely in the attic. It was safer for everyone that way. – p. 110

2 – The last book I finished:

Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally. This is the book that the movie was based on. I’d had it on my shelves for quite a few years but I couldn’t work myself up to read it. My recent visit to Auschwitz I and II made me really want to read this. It is a fascinating read about a spectacular man in one of our worst moments in history.

3 – The next book I want to read:

I have plenty I want to read next! At the moment, I’m tossing up between Prozac Nation, a Hardy or following the WWII theme, Stasiland by Anna Funder which has also been sitting patiently on my shelves.

4 – The last book I bought:

This will be detailed in an upcoming post. 🙂 Borders is closing down and I’ve just gone a little cuckoo over their sales. I’m also heading off to Book Town again this year – this Saturday in fact. Hurrah!

5 – The last book I was given:

Sadly, like many other book lovers, I’m rarely given books. The last book I received from Another Cookie Crumbles who gifted me a lovely Persephone, Farewell Leicester Square, when I met her in London. 🙂

14 comments

  1. You’ve reminded me that I still need to read Fforde’s latest! What am I doing?? That’s the downside of having too many books. You forget what you have!

    1. It’s always interesting to hear what people are currently reading about, isn’t it? I’ve also come across some really great titles.

  2. I really need to get to read this Fforde and also Shades of Grey.

    How can it be Book Town time again. I had forgotten all about it again. Maybe next year.

    1. I also need to give Shades another go. Couldn’t get into it the first time.

      Book Town comes around quite sudden, doesn’t it? I don’t think I’m going to get a chance to go, after all.

    1. Fforde is an amazing writer but I think one does need to devote themselves to his stories. They’re all so in depth with details. I hope you’ll enjoy his other books too! I think I love his Thursday Next series the best.

  3. Ahh, I’m going to steal this meme. I adored Schindler’s Ark, thought Prozac Nation was alright, and I didn’t have a good experience with my first attempt at Hardy. 😦 Is that to be expected?

Leave a Reply

