Booking Through Thursday

This week’s BTT

If you could ask your favorite author (alive or dead) one question … who would you ask, and what would the question be?

This is a difficult question – mainly because I have so many favourite authors, books and many many questions!

I think I would pick Syliva Plath and ask her – when she was writing The Bell Jar, did she see Esther ever having a future and a somewhat happy ending.

/edit. I lied. I have to add another question after I was inspired by Ireadbooks.

This is to Simone de Beauvoir – what she thinks about the position of women in today’s society. Are we really liberated? And are we still the second sex?

8 comments

  1. Good question for Plath, it was a bit of a mystery at the end. I think that the position of women would be a good one for many many authors who are not alive today. Would they be surprised at how it is now?

  2. Oh that’s a good one for Plath! I’d also like to see Simone and Sartre duke it out. One of their biggest fights was the question of Sartre’s brushing aside of a subjective experience based on the female point of view. Simone said of course it mattered but Satre said nono you still control your own freedom. I think Sartre and Camus would make a good Literary Celebrity Death Match, too. :0)

Leave a comment